Skip to main content

JUL Databases: TCC Categories

Cross-reference lists of TCC and VBPL databases by subject See each library website for descriptions of and access to the databases.

JUL Databases

In the JUL, patrons have direct access to TCC databases and must log in with their VBPL credentials to access VBPL databases. Some VBPL databases are accessible only at the Central Library.

The cross-reference list was updated in February 2017. 

TCC Favorites and VBPL Unique Topics

TCC VBPL
Academic Search Complete Grants
eBooks on EBSCOhost Foundation Maps
Films On Demand Foundation Directory Online Professional
Gale Virtual Reference Library Foundation Grandts to Individuals Online
JSTOR GrantSelect
LexisNexis Academic Local History & Genealogy
MasterFILE Premier America's Obituaries & Death Notices
Opposing Viewpoints in Context Ancestry.com
Oxford Reference Digital Sanborn Maps, 1967-1970
Project Muse HeritageQuest
Safari Books Online Norfolk Journal & Guide
Wiley Online Library Other
FastPencil (self-publishing)
Freegal (music downloads)
Zinio (magazines)

Arts & Humanities

TCC VBPL
Academic Search Complete Artemis Literary Sources
African-American Poetry, 1760-1900 e-Book Collection by EBSCO
America: History and Life Elibrary
American History in Video Expanded Academic Search ASAP
American Poetry Gale PowerSearch
AP Images General OneFile
Artsor Digital Library General Reference Center Gold
Biography Reference Bank HeritageQuest
Books@OVID Literati by Credo
Cambridge University Press MasterFile Premier
CAMIO Catalog of Art Museum Images Online
Chadwyck-Healey Literature Collections
Drama for Students
Duke University Press
English Poetry
English Verse Drama
European Views of America: 1493-1750
FIAF, the International Index to Film Periodicals Plus
Films On Demand
Gale PowerSearch
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Global Issues in Context
HarpWeek 1857-1912
Historical Abstracts
Humanities International Complete
JSTOR
Literary Index
Literature Online (LION)
Literature Resource Center
Literature Resources from Gale
Novels for Students
OmniFile Full Text Select
Oxford African American Studies
Oxford Art Online
Oxford Music Online
Oxford University Press
Poetry for Students
Project Muse
Religion & Philosophy Collection
Scribner Writers Online
Short Stories for Students
Sources in U. S. History Online: Slavery in America
Sources in U. S. History Online: The Civil War
Sources in U. S. History: The American Revolution
Twayne's Authors Online
U.S. History In Context
Virginia Heritage
Wiley Online Library
Women & Social Movements in the U.S.
Women's Studies International
World History in Context
19th Century U.S. Newspapers

Business & Economics

TCC VBPL
AcademicOneFile Business Source Complete
Academic Search Complete DemographicsNow
Business Source Complete Financial Ratings Series
Ceramics Abstracts Morningstar Investment Research Center
Code of Virginia (Legislative Info. System) Reference USA
Communication & Mass Media Complete Small Business Reference Center
EconLit with Full Text Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
Films On Demand ValueLine
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Health & Safety Science Abstracts
Hospitality & Tourism Complete
Materials Business File
Mergent Horizon
Mergent Online
Regional Business News
Safari Books Online
Vente et Gestion  

Careers & Professional Programs

TCC VBPL
Academic Search Complete ChiltonLibrary
Associates Programs Source Learning Express Library
Chilton Library Lynda.com
Films On Demand
LearningExpress Library
Library, Information Science, & Technology Abstracts
Nursing Education in Video
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Testing & Education Reference Center
Virginia Career View
Virginia Education Wizard  

Computers & Technology

TCC VBPL
Academic Search Complete Lynda.com
ACM Digital Library
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete
Films On Demand
IEEE Explore
ProQuest Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Collection
ProQuest Computer Science Collection
ProQuest SciTech Collection
Safari Books Online
Solid State & Superconductivity Abstracts
Wiley Online Library  

Controversial Issues

TCC VBPL
Academic Search Complete CultureGrams
CQ Researcher Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Films On Demand
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Global Issues in Context
Issues & Controversies
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Race Relations Abstracts  

Current Events, Government, & Law

TCC VBPL
Academic Search Complete Code of Virginia
America's News Magazines WestlawNext
Code of Virginia (Legislative Info. System)
CQ Researcher
Ethnic Newswatch
Factiva
Films On Demand
Global Issues in Context
GPO Monthly Catalog
Legal Collection
LexisNexis Academic
Military & Government Collection
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts
Newspaper Source Plus
Newswires
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Peace Research Abstracts
Political Science Complete
Public Administration Abstracts
Violence & Abuse Abstracts
Virginian-Pilot
Web news
Women's Studies International
World Factbook
World News Digest  

E-Books

TCC VBPL
Academic Search Complete OneClick Digital
Books@OVID Hoopla
Chilton Library OverDrive
eBooks on EBSCOhost
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Occupational Outlook Handbook
OverDrive
Oxford Art Online
Oxford English Dictionary
Oxford Music Online
PsycBooks
Safari Books Online
Salem Reference Online
Twayne's Authors Online

E-Videos

TCC VBPL
Academic Video Online Hoopla
Ambrose Digital OverDrive
American History in Video
Endless Voyage
Films On Demand
Nursing Education in Video
OverDrive
Videatives  

Education

TCC VBPL
Academic Search Complete
Academic Video Online
Associates Programs Source
Child Development & Adolescent Studies
Chronicle of Higher Education
Dissertations & Theses: Full Text
Education Research Complete
ERIC Educational Resources Information Center
Films On Demand
Gale Virtual Reference Library
LearningExpress Library
Library, Information Science, & Technology Abstracts
Teacher Reference Center
Testing & Education Reference Center
Videatives
Virginia Career View
Virginia Education Wizard  

Engineering

TCC VBPL
Academic Search Complete
Copper Technical Reference Library
Corrosion Abstracts
Engineered Materials Abstracts
ENGnetBASE
Films On Demand
IEEE Explore
ProQuest Engineering Collection
ProQuest Materials Science Collection
ProQuest SciTech Collection
Safari Books Online
Solid State & Superconductivity Abstracts  

General & Reference

TCC VBPL
Academic Search Complete Biography in Context
America's News Magazines e-Book Collection by EBSCO
Article First Elibrary
Biography Reference Bank Expanded Academic Search ASAP
Dissertations & Theses: Full Text Gale PowerSearch
Duke University Press InfoTrac Student Edition
Films On Demand Kids InfoBits
Gale PowerSearch MasterFile Premier
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Highwire Press
MasterFILE Premier
OmniFile Full Text Select
Oxford English Dictionary
Oxford Music Online
Oxford Reference
PapersFirst
ProceedingsFirst
Ulrich's Periodicals
Virginian-Pilot
Wiley Online Library
World Factbook
WorldCat  

Health & Medicine

TCC VBPL
Academic Search Complete
AHFS Consumer Medication Information
Alt HealthWatch
Annual Reviews
Books@OVID
CINAHL (includes Pre-CINAHL)
Consumer Health Complete
Consumer Health Complete (en Espanol)
Films On Demand
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Health & Safety Science Abstracts
Health Source: Consumer Edition
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Journals @ OVID
LexisNexis Academic
MedicLatina
MEDLINE
New England Journal of Medicine
Nursing Education in Video
ProQuest Biological Science Collection
ProQuest SciTech Collection
PsycArticles
PsycBooks
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
PsycInfo
PubMed
Salem Reference Online
Salud en Espanol
Science in Context
TOXLINE
Wiley Online Library
Your Journals @ OVID  

History

TCC VBPL
Academic Search Complete America's Obituaries & Death Notices
America: History and Life Digital Sanborn Maps, 1967-1970
American History in Video HeritageQuest
Biography Reference Bank Norfolk Journal & Guide
European Views of America: 1493-1750
Films On Demand
HarpWeek 1857-1912
Historical Abstracts
Humanities International Complete
JSTOR
OmniFile Full Text Select
Oxford African American Studies
Race Relations Abstracts
Sources in U. S. History Online: Slavery in America
Sources in U. S. History Online: The American Revolution
Sources in U. S. History Online: The Civil War
U.S. History in Context
Urban Studies Abstracts
Virginia Heritage
Women & Social Movements in the U. S.
Women's Studies International
World History in Context
19th Century Newspapers  

Language & Literature

TCC VBPL
Academic Search Complete Artemis Literary Sources
African American Poetry, 1960-1900 Dear Reader
American Poetry NoveList
Biography Reference Bank Rosetta Stone
Chadwyck-Healey Literature Collections Read the Books
Choice Reviews Something About the Author
Consumer Health Complete (en Espanol) TumbleBooks
Drama for Students WorldCat
English Poetry
English Verse Drama
Films On Demand
Fuente Academia
Gale PowerSearch
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Humanities International Complete
Journals @ OVID
JSTOR
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts
Literary Index
Literature Online (LION)
Literature Resource Center
Literature Resources from Gale
Mango Language Learning System
MedicLatina
MLA International Bibliography
Novels for Students
Oxford English Dictionary
Poetry for Students
Salud en Espanol
Scribner Writers Online
Short Stories for Students
Twayne's Authors Online
Vente et Gestion
Your Journals @ OVID  

Math

TCC VBPL
Academic Search Complete
ACM Digital Library
Annual Reviews
Cambridge University Press
Films On Demand
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Journals @ OVID
MasterFILE Premier
Materials Business File
Oxford University Press
Project Muse
Safari Books Online
Science in Context
Wiley Online Library
Your Journals @ OVID  

Multidiscipline

TCC VBPL
Academic Search Complete See General & Reference above
Academic Video Online
Films On Demand
Fuente Academia
Journals @ OVID
MasterFILE Premier
OmniFile Full Text Select
ProceedingsFirst
Wiley Online Library
Your Journals @ OVID  

Newspapers

TCC VBPL
Academic Search Complete America's News
America's News Magazines America's Obituaries & Death Notices
AP Images MasterFile Premier
Chronicle of Higher Education National Geographic Kids
Ethnic Newswatch New York Times
Factiva Norfolk Journal & Guide
Newspaper Source Plus
Newswires
Virginian-Pilot
World News Digest
19th Century Newspapers  

Science

TCC VBPL
Academic Search Complete
ACM Digital Library
American Chemical Society
Annual Reviews
Artstor Digital Complete
BioOne Complete
Cambridge University Press
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete
Copper Technical Reference Library
Corrosion Abstracts
Endless Voyage
Engineered Materials Abstracts
ENGnetBASE
Environment Complete
Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management
Films On Demand
Gale Virtual Reference Library
GreenFILE
Health & Safety Science Abstracts
IEEE Explore
IOPscience ebooks
IOPscience journals
Journals @ OVID
Nature (journal)
Oceanic Abstracts
Oxford University Press
Plant Science
ProQuest Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Collection
ProQuest Agricultural Science Collection
ProQuest Aquatic Science Collection
ProQuest Atmospheric Science Collection
ProQuest Biological Science Collection
ProQuest Computer Science Collection
ProQuest Earth Science Collection
ProQuest Engineering Collection
ProQuest Environmental Science Collection
ProQuest Materials Science Collection
ProQuest SciTech Collection
PubMed
Safari Books Online
Science (journal)
Science in Context
Solid State & Superconductivity Abstracts
Today's Science
TOXLINE
Water Resources Abstracts
Wiley Online Library
Your Journals @ OVID  

Social Sciences

TCC VBPL
Abstracts in Social Gerontology
Academic Search Complete
Academic Video Online
America: History and Life
American History in Video
Annual Reviews
Artstor Digital Complete
Biography Reference Bank
Cambridge University Press
Child Development & Adolescent Studies
Code of Virginia (Legislative Info. System)
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Contemporary Women's Issues
Duke University Press
Ethnic Newswatch
European Views of America: 1493-1750
Family Studies Abstracts
Films On Demand
Gale PowerSearch
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Global Issues in Context
HarpWeek 1857-1912
Historical Abstracts
Hospitality & Tourism Complete
Humanities International Complete
Issues & Controversies
Journals @ OVID
JSTOR
Library, Information Science, & Technology Abstracts
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts
National Geographic Digital Archive
OmniFile Full Text Select
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Oxford African American Studies
Oxford University Press
Peace Research Abstracts
Political Science Complete
Project Muse
PsycArticles
PsycBooks
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
PsycInfo
Race Relations Abstracts
Religion & Philosophy Collection
SocINDEX with Full Text
Sources in U. S. History: Slavery in America
Sources in U. S. History: The American Revolution
Sources in U. S. History: The Civil War
US History in Context
Violence & Abuse Abstracts
Virginia Heritage
Wiley Online Library
Women & Social Movements in the U.S.
Women's Studies International
World History in Context
Your Journals @ OVID
19th Century Newspapers  

Speech

TCC VBPL
Academic Search Complete
Academic Video Online
AP Images
Biography Reference Bank
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Contemporary Women's Issues
CQ Researcher
Films On Demand
Issues & Controversies
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
World Factbook
World News Digest