Skip to main content

How Do I?: Search for Articles

Searching Academic Search Complete

Here is an example of how you search for articles in Academic Search Complete.  It is one of our general databases and has something on almost every subject.

When you select Academic Search Complete from the database list the search page will open in a new tab.

a screenshot of the academic search advanced search page

You can enter your search into the blanks at the top.

It is helpful to break your topic into key ideas and words before searching. 

​Under the search box there is an area where you can select things to limit your search results.

Selecting "Full Text" means your search will only bring up articles that are available completely in this database.

There are other options to narrow down your search.  For instance you can choose to only search scholarly journals.

You can also refine your search by adding another search term.

academic search complete search for "community college" AND "tuition"

Once you have entered your search terms click on the search button and the results page will load.

Search Results

The search results page has a list of articles down the center. On the left there are panels that let you refine your search to a certain type of article or date of publication. the results page from academic search complete

The icons under the title will tell you about if the article was originally published in a Academic Journal, Periodical (Magazine), or Newspaper.

​You can click on the article title to find out more about the article or you can click on the full text to go straight to the article itself. 

Full text is available in HTML, PDF or both formats.

an example of the full text links for html and PDF

​PDF full text will take you to a scan of the article.  HTML will take you to a text file of the article.

Detailed Record

The Detailed Record page will provide links to the article on the left side of the page.

In the Center it will give the title, authors and source of the article. The source will tell you where the article was originally published, when it was published and how many pages long it is.  It will also provide you with an abstract, which is a summary of the article.

detailed record of an article on academic search complete​Reading the abstract will give you a good idea of whether you should read the article or look at another one instead.

On the right side of the page you will see a list of tools.

You can email the article to yourself, save it or print it out among other options.

The citation tool will even show you the proper way to cite the article in a variety of citation styles including MLA and APA.

example of the citation tool providing MLA citatio

You should always double check computer generated citation.