Explore Indigenous Peoples of North America in Gale Primary Sources Tidewater Community College Libraries offer access to Gale Primary Sources: Indigenous Peoples of North America, a rich digital archive that brings together rare primary source materials related to the history, culture, and experiences of Indigenous peoples across the continent.
What You’ll Find
This database includes a wide variety of digitized materials—many of which were previously difficult to access—such as:
• Manuscripts, treaties, and government documents
• Maps and photographs
• Personal narratives, oral histories, and organizational records
• Early books and periodicals
These resources span from the 17th to the 20th centuries and provide authentic voices and firsthand perspectives on topics including cultural traditions, colonial encounters, land rights, education, and sovereignty movements.
Why It Matters
Indigenous Peoples of North America supports research and learning in history, anthropology, sociology, political science, and cultural studies. It provides context for contemporary issues while honoring Indigenous perspectives that have often been marginalized in traditional historical collections.
Access the collection through the TCC Libraries’ A–Z Databases page under Indigenous Peoples of North America. Once inside, you can:
• Browse by collection or theme
• Use powerful search tools to locate materials by tribe, region, or topic
• View high-quality images of original documents
• Download, cite, or share items directly from the database