Skip to main content

Integrating Library Resources into Blackboard: Proxy Server & Off-Campus Access

Proxy Server & URL Prefix

The library’s licensed databases require that we control access and restrict it to faculty, staff, and students affiliated with TCC.  This is accomplished by using a proxy server for off-campus access to these databases and articles. 

To engage the proxy server, the URL that connects the user to the vendor's database must be modified to include the proxy server information.  When you save a URL from an article in a database for use in a reading list or class assignment, that URL must also be modified if students are to use those links from off-campus.

To engage the off-campus proxy environment, a URL must include the proxy information. If it does not include the it, the URL must have a prefix added that will cause the proxy server to determine if the user must be authenticated or not. If eztcc.vccs.edu is not part of the URL, add this prefix:

http://eztcc.vccs.edu:2048/login?url=

Off-Campus Access

 Accessing databases from the Library's web site: 
If you click on any database link from the library's web site from off-campus, you will get a Virginia's Community Colleges login screen first. Login with your My TCC (Blackboard) username and password. You will then be brought to the database search screen to search for your articles or eBooks. 

Accessing databases, articles or eBooks from within Blackboard: 
After you log into Blackboard from off-campus and click on a link to any database, article, or eBook, as long as the link opens within the Blackboard frame, you should NOT be prompted with a Virginia's Community Colleges login screen.

If the database, article or eBook link within Blackboard opens in a new window/tab, you will get a Virginia's Community Colleges login screen. Login again with your My TCC username and password.

For more information, see the VCCS Off-Campus Access to Library Databases web page. 

Subject Guide

Ruth Shumate's picture
Ruth Shumate
Contact:
(757) 822-5174