Research Guides: Terrorism & Mass Violence: Home

The purpose of this Topic Guide is to assist with the study of Terrorism, School Shootings, and Mass Shootings, both in the United States and globally.

Specific Call Numbers to browse:

D - DX	World History by Country	HV 6431	Terrorism, global
DS 35.3 - 389.22	History of Asia, Islamic World	HV 6432	American terrorists & terrorism
E 740 - 837.7	US History, Twentieth Century	HV 6433	ISIS, Al Qaeda
E 838 – 889	US History, Later Twentieth Century	LB 3013..25	Violence in Schools
E 895 - 904	US History, Twenty-first Century	P 96	Terrorism, Mass Media
HV 6251 – 6773.55	Criminology, Crimes & Offenses

"Terrorism, the systematic use of violence to create a general climate of fear in a population and thereby to bring about a particular political objective." Encyclopaedia Britannica: Terrorism

Selected Web Sites

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals, magazines and more covering topic related to communication and media.
- Help Searching EBSCO Databases (video 2:57)
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events.
- Global Issues Tutorial (video 1:57)
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text articles and periodicals on all branches of the military and government.
- Help Searching EBSCO Databases (video 2:57)
U.S. History In Context This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals and primary sources in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present.
- Topic finder (video 1:38)
World History in Context This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly articles, primary sources, images, maps and charts; ancient Europe to Latin America, the Far East to the Renaissance.
- Topic Finder (video 1:43)

Best History Sites
Pictures, media, history, lesson plans. Search Modern History, Terrorism & 911
CNN (Mass Shooting)
US Fast Facts (Mass Shooting)
Gun Violence Archive
Gun Violence Archive (GVA) is a not for profit corporation formed in 2013 to provide free online public access to accurate information about gun-related violence in the United States.
History.com
Search for topic or period of history. Try Terrorism, Mass Shooting, or School Shooting.
State Department: Country Reports on Terrorism
Country reports
Statista (Mass Shootings)
Statistics & links to lists
US Department of State
Articles: try Counter-terrorism, Mass Shootings

Euro Docs
Various primary document types by period.
National Archives
History and records; try Terrorism, Mass Shootings, or School Shootings

My Brother the Terrorist - Full Video (53:30, Films on Demand)
NBC: Kenya Mall Attack: Nowhere to Hide (approx. 38 min.)
Graphic footage as well as stories of civilian heroism
Run, hide, tell: police release advice on how to survive terror attack – video
Source: UK counter-terrorism police, Mon 10 Jul 2017 06.49 EDT
Top 10 Infamous Mass Shootings in the U.S.
The Washington Post: The terrible numbers that grow with each mass shooting

Washington Post: A gunman opens fire in your building. What do you do?

Terrorism & Mass Violence

Ask A Librarian

Make a Tutoring Appointment

The purpose of this Topic Guide is to assist with the study of Terrorism, School Shootings, and Mass Shootings, both in the United States and globally.

See also these guides:

Selected Web Sites