Research Guides: Resources for Faculty: For Faculty

Staff Contacts, Recommend a Library Purchase, Request Library Instruction

Information Literacy - Assignment Design

Information literacy concepts are present in the Critical Thinking, Written Communication, and Scientific Literacy rubrics. Students need to be able to conduct effective searches for sources and evidence, evaluate sources for credibility, synthesize information accurately, and properly cite information sources.

Integrating Information Literacy into Assignments
Assignment ideas that support information literacy.

Open Educational Resources (OER)

Open Educational Resources(OER) Research Guide
VIVA Open
Collection of curated OER adopted, adapted, and/or created by faculty and higher education professionals at Virginia institutions. Through the VIVA course mapping project, Virginia faculty are invited to review OER for the quality of explanation of the subject matter, comprehensiveness, and cultural relevance in consideration for the courses they have been mapped to.
VIVA Faculty Textbook Portal
A catalog to assist Virginia public college and university faculty in finding and selecting open and affordable textbooks

General Education

Pathways, Gen Ed, and Library Services
This document lists how Pathways, General Education and Library services are aligned.

General Education Assessment Resource System (GEARS)
Created for faculty by the TCC Instruction Committee to support student achievement of the College’s General Education Competencies.
Instructional Resource Repository

Diversity Resources for Faculty

Tidewater Community College Diversity & Inclusion Statement

Tidewater Community College is dedicated to cultivating and sustaining a diverse and inclusive environment that embraces all identities, perspectives, expression of ideas, and backgrounds. The entire college community benefits from experiences that foster mutual respect, celebrate differences, and value commonalities.

Cultural Studies Research Guide
BIPOC Mental Health Resources
Curated by the National Alliance on Mental Illness in support of community members who are Black, Indigenous, and People of Color.
Conducting Research through an Anti-Racism Lens
Guide courtesy of the University of Minnesota.
Disability Studies
Resources compiled by JMU on topics related to disability studies.

Diversity Related Databases:

Ethnic Newswatch This link opens in a new window
Full-text; newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press; includes Spanish language publications and a Spanish language search.
- Help Searching EBSCO Databases (video 2:57)
Contemporary Women's Issues This link opens in a new window
Full-text information on women from 200 countries; sociology, psychology, health, education, and human rights.
Archives of Sexuality and Gender This link opens in a new window
A robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender.
Indigenous Peoples of North America This link opens in a new window
Full-text primary sources about Native Americans from the 16th-20th Centuries.

Classroom Resources for Faculty

Copyright for Faculty

Copyright and Fair Use
ALA guide on copyright and fair use
Copyright for Educators and Librarians
Copyright Law of the United States of America
The official definition of what it means to perform or display a work "publicly"