Library Collection Assessment @ TCC

TCC Libraries use both qualitative and quantitative data to assess our holdings.

We analyze:

• Average publication dates
• Circulation and usage data
• Subject breakdowns using LC classification
• Core title presence
  • Bowker Book Analysis System (BBAS) is a powerful collection-analysis tool and an essential resource for librarians to electronically compare their library’s collection against Resources for College Libraries (RCL). 
  • RCL provides a list of over 75,000 core titles in 117 subject areas that are essential for undergraduate study. Developed by an editorial team of more than 400 subject editors, bibliographers, and referees the RCL database content is continuously updated.
• Feedback from faculty on course alignment and relevance
• We also consider format accessibility and whether resources reflect a broad range of experiences and viewpoints.

Bowker Book Analysis System (BBAS) is a powerful collection-analysis tool and an essential resource for librarians to electronically compare their library’s collection against Resources for College Libraries (RCL). The process begins with creating and downloading a file of our holdings from ALMA .

RCL provides a list of over 75,000 core titles in 117 subject areas that are essential for undergraduate study. Developed by an editorial team of more than 400 subject editors, bibliographers, and referees the RCL database content is continuously updated.

• RCL: Introduction and Overview

  This video introduces users to the Resources for College Libraries database and its primary functionality. Duration 6 minutes 36 seconds.