Disabilities Americans with Disabilities Act
People with disabilities Disability rights
Discrimination against people with disabilitiies
Assistive Technology for People with Disabilities by
How would you make a phone call or send email if you couldn't hear, see, or use your hands? This book shows how assistive technology helps individuals with disabilities perform tasks that people without disabilities may take for granted. Assistive technology can be used in two ways: to help people with disabilities to do things that people without disabilities can do without technology, and to improve access to everyday technology that is not designed for people with disabilities. In both cases, the focus is on matching individuals with the tools best suited to fill their needs. A part of Greenwood's Health and Medical Issues Today series, Assistive Technology for People with Disabilities explores what technologies are available to individuals with disabilities, what they can help them to accomplish, and potential hurdles to their use that must be overcome. It explores this exciting field broadly and in depth while still keeping the "people-first" mindset that is the hallmark of assistive technology. In addition, it provides guidance and resources for individuals seeking assistive technology for themselves or for a loved one. Explores the many types of assistive technology available for individuals with a variety of physical and cognitive disabilities, with emphasis placed on high-tech solutions Examines key issues related to assistive technology, such as access and affordability Illuminates through case studies how various forms of assistive technology may be applied in the real world and what challenges individuals must overcome to maximize the benefits of these tools
Disability Rights, Benefits, and Support Services Sourcebook by
"Provides basic consumer health information about barriers faced by people with disabilities, disability rights movement, right to education, housing, employment, voting, access to medical care, and transportation, as well as Social Security disability insurance, tax exemption, coverage option, and compensation. Includes directory of organizations for people with disabilities"--Provided by publisher"--
Handmade Teaching Materials for Students with Disabilities by
Due to the varied history of learning among disabled students, educators should ideally develop content tailored to each student's specific needs. However, in order to accomplish this, educators require easy-to-handle software and hardware for creating original content and aid for students with disabilities in their classes. Handmade Teaching Materials for Students With Disabilities provides emerging research exploring the theoretical and practical aspects of materials and technology made to help teachers in providing content and aid for students with disabilities and their applications within education. Featuring coverage on a broad range of topics such as assistive technologies, instructional practice, and teaching materials, this book is ideally designed for school teachers, pre-service teachers, academicians, researchers, and parents seeking current research on advancements in materials provided for teachers of disabled students.
Navigating the Transition from High School to College for Students with Disabilities by
Navigating the Transition from High School to College for Students with Disabilities provides effective strategies for navigating the transition process from high school into college for students with a wide range of disabilities. As students with disabilities attend two and four-year colleges in increasing numbers and through expanding access opportunities, challenges remain in helping these students and their families prepare for and successfully transition into higher education. Professionals and families supporting transition activities are often unaware of today's new and rapidly developing options for postsecondary education. This practical guide offers user-friendly resources, including vignettes, research summaries, and hands-on activities that can be easily implemented in the classroom and in the community and that facilitate strong collaboration between schools and families. Preparation issues such as financial aid, applying for college, and other long-term planning areas are addressed in detail. An accompanying student resource section offers materials for high school students with disabilities that secondary educators, counselors, and transition personnel can use to facilitate exploration and planning discussions. Framing higher education as a possible transition goal for all students with disabilities, Navigating the Transition from High School to College for Students with Disabilities supports the postsecondary interests of more than four million public school students with disabilities.
Disability As Diversity by
Administrators and faculty in medical, nursing and health science programs are witnessing a substantial increase in the number of students with disabilities entering their programs. Concurrently, the benefits of diversity in healthcare are becoming increasingly apparent and important. Provider-patient concordance is a known mechanism for reducing health care disparities. By developing a workforce that mirrors the patient population, we can appropriately inform disability care, reducing health care disparities while embracing the tenets of the Americans With Disabilities Act (ADA), namely equal opportunity, full participation, independent living, and economic self-sufficiency for qualified individuals with disabilities. One in five individuals will experience disability at some point in their lives, making this the largest minority in the US. A commitment to disability inclusion for qualified students should be a high-level goal of nursing, medical, and other health science programs. To support this goal, leaders in these areas must develop robust programs and an understanding of the best practices for inclusion. This first-of-its-kind title is designed to help deans, program directors, faculty, student affairs personnel and disability resource professionals thoughtfully plan for the growing population of health-care professionals with disabilities. The content helps stakeholders contextualize disability inclusion in health-care education as a function of social justice and a mechanism of reducing health care disparities for patients. It offers pragmatic advice, grounded in research, best practice, and case law to address the highly nuanced approach to determining and implementing accommodations in a high-stakes clinical environment. Disability as Diversity connects the moving parts necessary to ensure equal access for qualified students and provides a blueprint for crafting policy, proactive messaging, improving climate, adhering to accreditation standards, addressing licensing and board exams, responding to student failure, all while remaining compliant with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), and applicable Federal regulations. This text provides educators with the perspectives and skills they need to bring disability inclusion to the forefront of health education.
A multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more.
Searching on the New EBSCO User Interfaces (Video 3:28)
Disability in the Modern World includes primary sources, supporting materials, archives, documentaries, and interviews to support the growing disciplines of disability history and disability studies
Multidisciplinary collection of electronic books.
Help Searching eBook Central (video 3:30)
Full-text; newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press; includes Spanish language publications and a Spanish language search.
Full-text articles from books, magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals, and more on controversial issues,
Full-text scholarly journals, reference books and monographs, conference papers, subject-specific thesaurus on political topics.
Searching on the New EBSCO User Interfaces (Video 3:28)
