Librarians use a variety of tools to provide organized access to all types of information.
Library of Congress
Classification Web (Login)ClassWeb is an integrated cataloging tool that assists with the assignment of Library of Congress classification numbers for bibliographic content.
Classification Numbers (.pdf)Library of Congress classification results in resources grouped by subject, arranged on shelves in call number order.
MARC Standards (LC)The MARC formats are standards for the representation and communication of bibliographic and related information in machine-readable form. Computers need to talk to each other.
AuthoritiesAn authority record is a tool used by librarians to establish forms of names (for persons, places, meetings, and organizations), titles, subjects, and genres and forms used on bibliographic records
Online CatalogThe Library of Congress online catalog contains 20 million catalog records for books, serials, manuscripts, maps, music, recordings, images, and electronic resources in the library's collections.
Cataloging ToolsThe Library's cataloging services include search vocabularies, classification, policy, products, training & cooperative programs.
Subject Headings (FAST)FAST (Faceted Application of Subject Terminology) is derived from the Library of Congress Subject Headings
Subject Headings (Genres)The Library of Congress Genre/Form Terms for Library and Archival Materials (LCGFT) is a thesaurus that describes what a work is versus what it is about. Examples are horror films, wildlife television programs, and science fiction.
Subject Headings (Library of Congress .pdf)This page provides print-ready PDF files for the 44th Edition of the Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH). Data for the 44th edition was selected in May 2022. For users desiring enhanced functionality, LCSH will continue as part of the web-based subscription product, Classification Web.
OCLC
WorldCat for everyoneWorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world. WorldCat grows every day thanks to the efforts of librarians and other information professionals.
WorldCat Staff View (Login)Library staff has the option to Sign In to the WorldCat Discovery interface in order to benefit from the staff features that are not visible to patrons. The staff view of WorldCat Discovery includes the full MARC record as well as holdings.
WorldShare Management ServicesWorldShare is a cloud-based library services platform. As an integrated suite of library management and discovery applications, it offers librarians a comprehensive and cost-effective way to manage workflows efficiently, and improve access to collections and services.
OCLC (Online Computer Library Center)Online Computer Library Center (OCLC) is a global library organization that provides shared technology services, original research, and community programs for its membership and the library community at large. We are librarians, technologists, researchers, pioneers, leaders, and learners. With thousands of library members in more than 100 countries, we come together as OCLC to make information more accessible and more useful.
MARC Standards (OCLC)Bibliographic Formats and Standards is a guide to the structure, coding practices, and input standards used in bibliographic records in the WorldCat® database. It provides definitions, guidelines, and examples for entering information into WorldCat.
OCLC Librarian's ToolboxIn a single location access the most used professional cataloging tools including the Cataloging and Metadata Community Center.
WorldShare ReportsWorldShare Reports allows you to monitor your institution's activity within the WorldShare application. Plus, with WorldShare Report Designer, you can build custom reports and visualizations that meet your specific library needs.
Other Tools
Cutter CalculatorCataloging tool that finds variable and fixed MARC fields (bibliographic and authority data), LC and MeSH subject headings, LC and NLM Classification.
MeSH (Medical Subject Headings)The Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) thesaurus is a controlled and hierarchically-organized vocabulary produced by the National Library of Medicine.
Ulrich'sweb (Login)Ulrichsweb covers more than 900 subject areas. Ulrich's records provide data points such as ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, tables of contents, and reviews written by librarians.
VCCS LincSite Forums (Login)Contains forums where VCCS library staff discuss topics relevant to all VCCS libraries and library services.
VCCS A-Z databases listThis is a list of databases provided by library services of the Virginia Community College System.
VIVA A-Z databases listThis is a list of databases provided by the Virtual Library of Virginia (VIVA), a consortium of 39 state-assisted colleges and universities.
Contact:
Beverly D. Hills, MSLS
Cataloger, Part-time
Tidewater Community College
Virginia Beach Campus
Joint-Use Library
(email) bhills@tcc.edu
(phone) 757.822.7389
