Academics & So Much More! Blog

Honoring Our Veterans: A Day of Reflection and Learning This Veterans Day, we pause to honor the courage, sacrifice, and dedication of those who have served in the United States Armed Forces. Their commitment to protecting our nation reminds us of the importance of service, community, and gratitude. 

To learn more about military history, government policy, and the experiences of those who serve, explore the EBSCO Military & Government Collection—available through TCC Libraries. This resource provides access to over 270 full-text journals and 440 indexed periodicals covering all branches of the military and current government topics. Let’s take time today to reflect on their service and continue to learn from their stories

Looking for books, eBooks, articles, or even streaming videos? The TCC Library Catalog is your ultimate treasure map to academic gold!

Whether you're writing a paper, prepping for a presentation, or just curious about something cool, the catalog helps you:

🔎 Search across all TCC campuses
📖 Find physical and digital resources
🎬 Access streaming media and more
📚 Place holds and renew items online

It’s easy to use, available 24/7, and totally free for TCC students, faculty, and staff. Just head to www.libguides.tcc.edu/library, click “🔍,” and start exploring!

Need help? Your friendly librarians are just a chat, call, or visit away. Happy hunting!

Level up your writing and citation skills! Dive into our new interactive MLA and APA citation tutorials—because citing sources doesn’t have to be boring!

Five reasons why citation matters in college:

• Avoids Plagiarism – Proper citation gives credit to original authors and prevents academic dishonesty.
• Builds Credibility – Citing sources shows your work is based on reliable research.
• Supports Your Points – References strengthen your ideas with evidence.
• Helps Readers Verify Information – Citations allow others to find and check your sources.
• Meets Academic Standards – Most colleges require citation for all research-based writing.

These new tutorials are also available on the Citation Research Guide. 

Learning English? We’ve got a collection just for you! 📚✨

The ESL Collection at the TCC Virginia Beach Campus Library is designed to support English language learners with books that match your reading level and classroom needs. Whether you're looking for fiction to enjoy or nonfiction to help with assignments, we’ve got something for you!  Check out the ESL Research Guide for more resources!

📍 Where to find it:
Head to the second floor of the library—ESL readers are shelved across from the Reference Desk for easy access.

📘 Why you’ll love it:

• Books are organized by reading level (color coded), so you can find something that’s just right for you.  To search for the ESL resources check out our TCC Collections to find what you need for your class!
• A mix of fiction and nonfiction to match your interests and class requirements
• Great for building vocabulary, improving comprehension, and enjoying reading in English!

Need help finding the right book? Just ask a librarian—we’re happy to help you explore the collection and find something you’ll love.

The library is where you are! Recently, library specialist Dominique M.  participated in “Everything is Fine-College Student Edition: Expectation vs. Reality”. This student engagement event took place at the Chesapeake Student Center on October 29th. Students relaxed, socialized, connected through fun crafts and also learned about services available to them through libraries and tutoring. This month, students were inspired by graphic novel “Everything is Fine” and created their own mini comic strip relating to their college experience.

Thank you Chiara W., Student Life Programmer, for the invite to your event and we look forward to the next one!

Okay, let’s be real—research can sound about as exciting as a math test on a Monday morning. But here’s the thing: It doesn’t have to be boring! Whether you’re working on a paper or just trying to answer one of those random, "What’s the deal with this?" questions, research can actually be a cool adventure—and your TCC Libraries are the best place to kick off your journey.

Step 1: Start with Curiosity

Research doesn’t have to be about writing a 20-page paper. It starts with something simple: a question. What's that random thought that popped into your head? Whether it’s “How did pizza become so popular?” or “What are the weirdest animals in the world?”—that’s your starting point. Everything cool starts with a question!

Step 2: Use Your Library’s Secret Weapons

Your library isn’t just a quiet place to nap (or is it?). It’s a treasure trove of databases, research guides, ebooks, and hidden gems that’ll make finding info a breeze. Forget endless Googling—your librarians are research superheroes ready to point you in the right direction. Just ask, and they’ll show you the way to the good stuff!

Step 3: Dive In & Have a Blast

Once you find your topic, it’s like opening a door to a whole new world. You’ll discover wild facts, crazy histories, and maybe even a new obsession. Research is like the ultimate treasure hunt—and the best part? You get to keep what you find!

Step 4: Take Breaks & Celebrate Your Wins

All that research can get intense, so make sure you take breaks! Watch a quirky documentary on Kanopy, grab a snack, or just take a breather. And every time you find a perfect source or cool fact? Celebrate! Maybe with a fist pump. Maybe with a victory lap around the library.

So, next time you think of research as a drag, just remember: It’s an exploration! You’ve got a whole library full of tools and cool resources waiting for you to discover. Dive in, have fun, and let the research adventure begin!

What’s your most random research question? Let us know—we might just have the perfect resource for it!

Stuck on a paper? Not sure where to start? Don’t panic—your library’s got your back with Research Guides!
These librarian-made guides are like cheat sheets for your classes. They’ll hook you up with:

🔍 The best databases for your topic
📚 Books and articles your professor will love
✍️ Citation help (APA, MLA, Chicago—no sweat)
📬 A librarian you can actually talk to

Whether you’re writing a paper, prepping a presentation, or just trying to survive midterms, research guides make it way easier.
👉 Find them on the library website under “Research Guides.”
📣 Questions? Ask a librarian both in-person and available online—we’re here to help you crush it.

November marks Native American Heritage Month, a time to honor the rich histories, diverse cultures, and enduring contributions of Indigenous peoples across the United States.  Recognize the importance of amplifying Native voices, preserving Indigenous knowledge, and fostering understanding through literature, storytelling, and community engagement.

Check out some of the resources your TCC Libraries have to offer:(Books selected by Ruthie D., Portsmouth Campus Library)

• The Cambridge history of Native American literature

• New Mexico Native American Lore : Skinwalkers, Kachinas, Spirits and Dark Omens.

• Contemporary Native American literature

• Native American women leaders : fourteen profiles

For more resources check out our Indigenous People Studies Research Guide!

Explore Indigenous Peoples of North America in Gale Primary Sources Tidewater Community College Libraries offer access to Gale Primary Sources: Indigenous Peoples of North America, a rich digital archive that brings together rare primary source materials related to the history, culture, and experiences of Indigenous peoples across the continent.

What You’ll Find 

This database includes a wide variety of digitized materials—many of which were previously difficult to access—such as:

• Manuscripts, treaties, and government documents

• Maps and photographs 

• Personal narratives, oral histories, and organizational records

• Early books and periodicals

These resources span from the 17th to the 20th centuries and provide authentic voices and firsthand perspectives on topics including cultural traditions, colonial encounters, land rights, education, and sovereignty movements. 

Why It Matters 

Indigenous Peoples of North America supports research and learning in history, anthropology, sociology, political science, and cultural studies. It provides context for contemporary issues while honoring Indigenous perspectives that have often been marginalized in traditional historical collections.

Access the collection through the TCC Libraries’ A–Z Databases page under Indigenous Peoples of North America. Once inside, you can:

• Browse by collection or theme

• Use powerful search tools to locate materials by tribe, region, or topic

• View high-quality images of original documents

• Download, cite, or share items directly from the database

Post authored by Terri R., Norfolk Campus

Step into the colorful world of anime, graphic novels, and storytelling at the “From Storyboard to the Big Screen” event hosted by the TCC Norfolk Campus Library in collaboration with the Norfolk Public Library.

This exciting celebration brings fans, creators, and the curious together for an afternoon filled with creativity and community. Visitors can enjoy crafts, snacks, and sing-alongs, explore the artistry behind animation, and connect with others who share a passion for anime and visual storytelling.

The event will also feature an anime movie screening (title to be announced soon) that highlights the transition from concept art and storyboards to the stunning visuals we see on screen.

And don’t forget the Cosplay Contest, open to all TCC students, faculty, and staff. Whether you’re a seasoned cosplayer or debuting your first costume, it’s your chance to showcase your creativity and celebrate your favorite characters.

📅 Date: Wednesday, November 5, 2025
🕚 Time: 11:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m.
📍 Location: TCC Norfolk Campus Library
🎉 Hosted by: TCC Norfolk Campus Library and Norfolk Public Library
🎬 Feature: Crafts, snacks, sing-alongs, anime movie screening, and cosplay contest

Join us for a day where imagination comes to life, from storyboard to the big screen!

👉 For more information and cosplay contest details, visit: https://libguides.tcc.edu/FromStoryboardtotheBigScreen