Academics & So Much More! Blog

Can you complete this Halloween bingo sheet! TCC Libraries have you covered for books and movies in our Film Research Guide! Curl up with a great book or movie! Check out our spooky reads/watch list too! 

How is it possible that the Fall 2024 semester is half over? Now is as good a time as any to check your library account and renew/return items as needed. 

During the closing session of the Virginia Library Association’s Annual Conference on October 18, 2024, Kendra Hawkins, Coordinator of Library Services at the Portsmouth Campus, was announced as the newly elected Secretary. The VLA is dedicated to developing, promoting, and improving library services, staff, and the profession of librarianship in Virginia.

Kendra has been with the Portsmouth Campus Library since May 2021, overseeing budgeting, acquisitions, student engagement, collection services, and technology support.

An active VLA member, Kendra recently served on the task force for the 2024 Virginia Library Leadership Academy and co-presented at the 2023 VLA Conference. She advocates for the VLA’s mission to advance literacy, learning, and access to information in Virginia, believing in the crucial role of libraries in fostering education, community, and intellectual freedom.

Congratulations to Kendra Hawkins on this well-deserved achievement! 

1.  Having trouble coming up with a research topic? All-in-one databases like Opposing Viewpoints in Context are excellent for exploring ideas! 

2.  You can search multiple databases at one time when using Academic Search Complete.

3.  Reach out to a librarian if you are not sure about the resources you have access to.  You have access to a librarian 24/7 through Ask a Librarian!

4.  Don't get discouraged if you do not get any results at first, you may need to change your subject or keywords for your research.

5.  Research something you are interested in, so you'll be inspired to do your best work!

Hey there, savvy scholars! Midterms or mid-semester is just around the corner, and while that might send a shiver down your spine, fear not! TCC Libraries are here to help you navigate this tricky time with some fun, stress-busting strategies. Let’s make studying a little less daunting and a lot more enjoyable!

As you study, celebrate your achievements, big or small! Finished a chapter? Treat yourself! Completed a practice test? High-five your study buddy! These little celebrations can help keep your spirits high and motivation strong.

Midterms may be challenging, but with a little creativity and fun, you can tackle them like a pro! Remember, the library is your ally, full of resources and a supportive community ready to cheer you on. So, gear up, enjoy the process, and make some great memories along the way.

1. Create Your Ultimate Study Playlist

Who says studying has to be boring? Curate an upbeat playlist to keep your energy levels high while you hit the books. Whether you prefer lo-fi beats, classic rock, or catchy pop tunes, a good soundtrack can make all the difference. Let’s jam to some great music and bonus points for dancing it out during breaks!

2. Turn Studying into a Game

Make studying a bit more exciting by turning it into a game! Use flashcards for quick quizzes, set timers for mini study sprints, or challenge a friend to see who can recall the most facts in a minute. Reward yourselves with snacks or fun breaks for every milestone you reach!

3. Find Your Perfect Study Spot

The library is full of unique spaces, so why not explore? From cozy reading nooks to lively group study areas, finding the right environment can help you focus. Bring a comfy blanket or your favorite mug for some extra comfort. Don’t forget to take some fun selfies in your favorite spots!

4. Snack Smart, Snack Happy

Fuel your brain with healthy snacks that also bring a smile! Think trail mix, fruit, or even some popcorn for a light crunch. Treat yourself to a little indulgence—maybe a cookie or two—because studying hard deserves some delicious rewards!

5. Take Mini Breaks with a Twist

Instead of just scrolling through your phone during breaks, try something refreshing! Do a quick stretch, take a stroll around the library, or grab a friend for a short dance party in the study area. Movement boosts your mood and keeps your energy up!

6. Mindfulness Moments

When the stress feels overwhelming, take a moment to breathe. Find a quiet corner in the library, close your eyes, and focus on your breathing for a few minutes. You could also try a short guided meditation available through library resources or apps. It’s a great way to reset and recharge!

7. Celebrate Your Progress

As you study, celebrate your achievements, big or small! Finished a chapter? Treat yourself! Completed a practice test? High-five your study buddy! These little celebrations can help keep your spirits high and motivation strong.

Midterms may be challenging, but with a little creativity and fun, you can tackle them like a pro! Remember, the library is your ally, full of resources and a supportive community ready to cheer you on. So, gear up, enjoy the process, and make some great memories along the way.

Wishing you all a successful and stress-free midterm season! You've got this! 🎉📚✨

**Some information in this post was inspired by ChatGPT.**

On Saturday, October 12th from 9am-1pm, TCC's Office of Educational Accessibility hosted a targeted college visit for students with disabilities and their parents. The event took place at the Virginia Beach Student Center and provided opportunities for students to learn more about college-readiness.

Beth Callahan, College-wide Coordinator for the Office of Accessibility, facilitated a Q & A panel with the students.  This panel included Dr. Thomas Geary (English), Kimberly Lee (Psychology), Michael VanderWerf (Skilled Trades Academy) and Heather Fitzgerald (Library Coordinator).

In partnership with SCHEV and the Department of Aging & Rehabilitation.

Today,  a reception was hosted at the Joint-Use Library (JUL) to celebrate four regional artists who donated their artwork to the library. Stop by the Joint-Use Library today to discover these works and more!

• "JUL Glows in Moonlight". Photography by Catherine Johnson. 
• "Soleil Royal". Model Ship by Lee Martin.
• "Fractal Frog" and "Tricolored Heron in Breeding Plumage". Photography by Scott Young.
• "Cheers to Neptune". Photography by Nathan Beck.

Special thanks to Virginia Beach Public Library staff members Donna Simpkins and Sean O'Connell for coordinating this reception in collaboration with Tidewater Community College.

(Blog post co-authored by Ruthie D., TCC Libraries, Portsmouth)

October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month. Here are a few examples of what TCC Libraries have available.

• Health Portal Research Guide
• More information, including overviews and statistics, is available through the American Cancer Society.    

Need more help? We look forward to hearing from you!

1.  Read the abstract before downloading a long scholarly journal article to make sure it's relevant to your topic and worth your time to read.
2. If TCC doesn't own the book or article you're looking for you, you can request an Interlibrary Loan, and we'll try to get it for you from another institution!  Just remember to leave enough time to receive the item!
3. Google Scholar can be checked to see if the article is openly available! Simply copy the citation and paste in quotes to see if full-text is available. This is helpful if you don't have time to wait for an Interlibrary loan!
4. Did you get too many search results? Consider filtering or limiting to specific publication date ranges, languages, full text, peer-reviewed, or publication type.
5. Ever wondered what "Peer-Reviewed" means? The article in a peer-reviewed publication must go through a stringent review process by fellow experts in that field of study to ensure it is well-written, scientifically valid, aligned with standard rules of ethics, and contributes new and significant findings.

Unleash your inner spirits with Kanopy’s Fright Fest! From horror classics to thrilling adventures, Fright Fest celebrates horror and fascination during this spooky season. Get your flashlight ready and start streaming now at www.kanopy.com/category/60744. #FrightFestonKanopy

Hey there! The TCC Librarians are here to share tips for avoiding plagiarism. First, it is critical to define a few terms:

• Plagiarism: presenting within one's own work the ideas, representations, or words of another person, or artificial intelligence, without customary and proper acknowledgement of that person's authorship. (3.1.3 TCC Code of Student Rights and Responsibilities)
• Citation: basic information required to identify and locate a specific source (TCC Libraries)

• Paraphrasing: expressing what is written/spoken using different words than the original author used, but conveying the same meaning (Collins Dictionary)

  

Now, as promised, those two tips for avoiding plagiarism:

1. Cite your sources correctly
2. Paraphrase information 

Still  have questions? Stop by a library or meet with a writing tutor! 

1. Appropriate publication dates can vary by field of study. Research in the arts and humanities can include a wider range of publication dates as timely resources depending on the research need. Research in the sciences, including health and medicine, should focus on the most recent publications, which will discuss past research in the introductions of the articles. 
2. Research is more of an art than a science. Approach your searches with an open mind and consider the ways the authors talk about the topic to identify different keywords and subjects.
3. You don't have to be on campus to search the library databases! Log in using your myTCC credentials to access full-text articles, ebooks, streaming videos, and more!
4. Searching for a specific phrase? Try putting the words in quotations in the search box. "Physical therapy" is a much more specific search than physical therapy. The database assumes you want all results with the words physical and therapy.
5. Not sure where to start with your research? Check out the TCC Libraries Research Guides. We will have a guide related to your class or your topic that will list the relevant databases, areas in the book collection to browse, and a Research Step-by-Step module. 

(Blog Post Authored by Dominique M., Chesapeake Campus Library)

Looking for your next read? Try these graphic novels--available at TCC Libraries!

Batman: The Killing Joke

This is a classic for those that want to see the origin story of Batman’s greatest nemesis. How one bad day can change the whole trajectory of your life. Take a look behind the curtain of insanity to see how The Joker became the criminal we know him as.
 

 Harleen
Ever been curious about Harley Quinn’s origin story? Of course there are many places to start, so why not start with Harleen? A deeply heartbreaking and eye-opening story about how far some would go for love, with fan favorite Harley Quinn at the center. 

In partnership with the Virginia Beach Public Library, please visit the Joint-Use Library on the VB Campus of TCC to admire over 90 pieces from the Tidewater Quilters' Guild. Exhibit will be in place until December 11, 2024.

Founded in 1979, the Tidewater Quilters' Guild provides educational programs and workshops in various techniques relative to the needs of those interested in the art of quilt making and similar arts; to educate the public about this fine art; to preserve the tradition, culture, and history of quilts.
 

Hey book lovers! October is here, and that means it's time to celebrate National Book Month! 🎉 Whether you're a page-turner fanatic or just looking to squeeze in a few chapters, this month is all about soaking up the magic of reading.  Check out what TCC Libraries have to offer.