TCC Libraries are excited to share that our institution now has early access to JSTOR's new interactive research tool. Developed in collaboration with the scholarly community, this innovative tool uses advanced technologies, including AI, to empower people to deepen and expand their research with JSTOR’s trusted corpus.
Avoid spending hours reading the wrong sources with JSTOR’s interactive research tool.🚫 Use the tool to screen academic resources based on topics, keywords, and themes to get connected to the RIGHT content faster. Whether conducting a deep dive or just gathering preliminary materials, you’ll have more time to focus on what matters. ☄️ Learn more here: https://about.jstor.org/research-tool/, or login to your JSTOR account and start using the tool today!
What are you thankful for? We are thankful for our students, staff, faculty, and community patrons.
Take a break from studying by checking out some of our streaming databases or popular DVDs. Be sure to laugh and relax! Some of our video streaming databases are: Films On Demand, Kanopy, and Swank Digital Campus. We also have some popular movies at all of our campus libraries, from Star Wars to Love Actually be sure to check out our library catalog for a great movie night!
TCC Libraries & Tutoring wish everyone a happy and safe holiday!
Take a break from your studies to enjoy doing some crafts! As November settles in with sweater weather, bringing with it cozy evenings and the spirit of gratitude, it’s the perfect time to dive into some crafting! TCC Library catalog is brimming with fantastic craft books that can inspire your next project.
Whether you’re a seasoned crafter or just starting out, there’s something here for everyone. Let’s explore some must-read craft books to get your creative juices flowing this month!
**Some information in this post was inspired by ChatGPT.**
Hello, scholars and students! In the vast world of online information, Google Scholar can be an invaluable tool for your research needs. But when is the best time to reach for this academic search engine? Let’s break it down!
Your TCC Libraries offers you many different subject research databases to search through for your academic research. Not all databases are the same and have every article you are searching for, but at times Google Scholar may the article you are searching for with full text. If neither the library databases nor Google Scholar has your article, then you can put in a request in through Interlibrary Loan. Please be aware of your time when requesting materials. TCC Libraries can normally get articles within a 24-hour period.
🌟 Maximize Your Research!
Happy researching, and may your scholarly adventures be fruitful! 📖✨
**Some information in this post was inspired by ChatGPT.**
Hello, knowledge seekers! In today’s digital world, having access to computers can make a huge difference in your academic journey. Your TCC Libraries are not just a treasure trove of books; it’s also equipped with powerful computers designed to support your studies and research. Let’s explore the fantastic benefits of using library computers!
Research Made Easy: With access to a wide range of databases, research guides geared to your courses, online journals, and eBooks, library computers are your gateway to credible sources. Say goodbye to endless Googling and hello to reliable information! 🔍✨
Software and Tools: Many library computers are loaded with software or even specialized software needed for your classes.Whether you’re working on a presentation or a creative project, you’ll find the tools you need right at your fingertips! 🛠️🎨
Printing: Need a hard copy of your assignment? Library computers allow you to print documents easily. Just bring your student ID, and you’re all set to get your 100 free prints (per semester)! 📄🖨️
Collaborative Projects: Work on group assignments with ease! Many libraries have computers set up in collaborative spaces, so you and your classmates can brainstorm, share ideas, and create together. Whether using computers in the lab or study rooms, we have you covered to get your projects done!🤝💡
Access to Online Tutoring: Dive into online tutoring when you need help with your courses.🎓✨
🎉 Make the Most of Your TCC Library Computers!
Next time you need to tackle a research project, finish an assignment, or just explore new ideas, head to your library’s computer lab! It’s a fantastic resource that can enhance your academic experience and set you up for success.If your computer goes down the library has computers and study rooms with computers to get your work done.
Happy computing, and see you at you local TCC Library! 📚✨
**Some information in this post was inspired by ChatGPT.**
Hello, students and scholars! As you dive into your research projects, it’s crucial to have the right tools at your fingertips. One such tool is Academic Search Complete—a powerful database that can elevate your research game! Let’s explore what it is, how to use it, and why it should be your go-to resource for academic inquiries.
🌟 What is Academic Search Complete?
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive multidisciplinary database that can be used for any subject you are studying and can provide access to scholarly journals, magazines, and other academic resources. This database is designed to be used for any discipline or program of study. You can locate Academic Search Complete on the A to Z Database List.
🔍 Why Use Academic Search Complete?
Extensive Coverage: With millions of articles available, Academic Search Complete covers a wide range of subjects, making it suitable for nearly any research topic you might encounter.
Peer-Reviewed Sources: The database primarily includes peer-reviewed journals, ensuring that the information you’re accessing is credible and reliable—perfect for academic work!
Advanced Search Options: Use advanced search features to refine your results. Filter by publication date, source type, and more to find exactly what you need quickly.
Happy researching, and may you uncover a wealth of knowledge along the way! 📚✨Please be sure to reach out to your local TCC Librarian if you need help whether in-person or online through Ask a Librarian.
**Some information in this post was inspired by ChatGPT.**
Enabling exploration of the political, social, and cultural history of native peoples from the sixteenth century well into the twentieth century, Indigenous Peoples of North America illustrates the fabric of the North American story with unprecedented depth and breadth. Comprehensive yet personal, the collection covers the history of American Indian tribes and supporting organizations.
To Cage a God contains pretty much everything I love in a fantasy and I can already tell that Elizabeth May is going to become a favorite author of mine. It’s a dark story with dark themes, so I would definitely recommend checking the trigger warnings before diving right in.
Set in a fantasy world inspired by Imperial Russia, in their country the commoners starve while the royalty live in splendor thanks to their pact with gods centuries ago. Now every member of nobility is an alurea, someone who shares their body with a god who gives them and the people who guard them, unimaginable powers. Previously, never has an alurea come from a common family…that is, until now. Sera and Galina both carry gods within them, though they both wish otherwise. Experimented on by their mothers, they had no choice in the joining, nor what she made them do once their power was available.
Sera’s god is vicious and vengeful, happier to see her in pain than to help her out in any way and its power comes with a hefty price. Galina has a softer bond with her god, but the things she was forced to use her powers on made her resent it and turn to drinking. Both are broken in their own way and carry a hope for a better future where the alurea no longer rule, where people cannot access that kind of power.
To Cage A God was a fun, fast paced fantasy filled with fight scenes and romance with plenty of plot twists to keep us entertained. It all came together in a story I didn’t want to put down! While it’s definitely something I loved reading, don’t just take my word for it, check it out yourself!
November is here, and that means it’s time to honor Native American Heritage Month! This month is dedicated to recognizing the rich history, culture, and contributions of Native American peoples throughout the United States.
📚 Explore Our Resources
Your library has a wealth of resources to help you learn more about Native American history and culture. Check out books, documentaries, and digital archives that highlight the diverse traditions and stories of Indigenous communities.TCC Libraries has many resources available at your fingertips by exploring our Indigenous People Studies Research Guide!
🤝 Get Involved
This November, take time to reflect on the significance of Native American Heritage Month. Consider how you can support Indigenous communities and amplify their stories.
Let’s celebrate the vibrant heritage and contributions of Native Americans together! 🌿✨
**Some information in this post was inspired by ChatGPT.**
During the month of November, Kanopy is celebrating Native American tribes and traditions through film. This thoughtfully curated film selection highlights the diverse cultures, histories, and stories of indigenous communities.
From poignant documentaries to vibrant narratives, each piece offers a closer look into the traditions, challenges, and achievements of Native American peoples. Experience these compelling stories and gain a greater appreciation for their enduring heritage with the Native American Heritage Month collection.
