Academics & So Much More! Blog

TCC Libraries support for Faculty participation in the VIVA Curriculum Driven Acquisitions Program saved 759 TCC students a total of $42,737.11 in textbook costs since Fall 2023. VIVA’s innovative program enables libraries to license eTextbooks that match course materials selected by faculty. This program ensures that students have free access to course materials while reducing financial stress and supporting academic success.

Chef Jonathan Wilson, Assistant Professor and Department Chair of Culinary Arts— 

"Over the years of teaching in higher education, I've observed a concerning trend: the rising cost of student textbooks. Not only are prices increasing, but many students have also shared with me that the ability to own a textbook is becoming less common. On the positive side, the availability of free e-books for study is a significant development. This not only eases the financial burden on students but also provides them with immediate access to the materials they need for class."

TCC Faculty, we would love to share how this program has benefitted your students and courses. Please consider leaving a comment! (P.S. Thank you to the faculty who already emailed quotes, too!)

April is Occupational Therapy (OT) Month, a time to recognize and celebrate the incredible work of occupational therapists in our communities. OT professionals help individuals of all ages overcome challenges and live more fulfilling, independent lives by addressing physical, mental, and cognitive barriers. Whether assisting children with developmental disabilities, helping adults recover from injuries, or supporting seniors with aging-related concerns, OTs play a crucial role in enhancing quality of life.

This month, let’s take a moment to appreciate the dedicated OT professionals who empower individuals to perform everyday tasks—whether it’s getting dressed, returning to work, or participating in hobbies. Their work truly makes a difference!

Join us in celebrating OT Month by learning more about how occupational therapy helps people thrive and the various specialties within the field. You might be surprised by how many lives OTs touch every day!  For more information check out some TCC resources from our Occupational Therapy Research Guide!

 Image from  "Occupational Therapy" is licensed under CC BY-SA 3.0

The VA Beach Campus glass display explores what libraries mean to you and what you like to keep in your personal library collection.  Stop by your campus library or comment below to share what libraries mean to you or what you keep in your own personal library!

What Do Libraries Mean to Me?

To me, libraries are like treasure chests — full of hidden gems waiting to be discovered! They’re places where time slows down, allowing me to dive into worlds of science fiction, learn something new, or even just relax in a cozy corner. There’s something magical about finding a book you didn’t know you needed or stumbling across a random fact that sparks a new obsession.

But libraries aren’t just about books. They’re community hubs, offering workshops, events, and a safe space for everyone. It’s where I go to escape the noise, find inspiration, and let my curiosity run wild. Whether in print or digital, libraries are my go-to for endless possibilities, and I’m grateful for every quiet moment spent inside their walls.

In short? Libraries are like the quiet superheroes of the world — always there, always ready, and always full of surprises.

What's in My Personal Library Collection?

If you ever peeked into my personal library at home, you'd be in for a fun ride! It's a mix of all the things I love — from science fiction and fantasy novels, like Star Trek and Star Wars all the while imagining a galaxy out there. I’m currently obsessed with genealogy. You'll find a hefty stack of fantasy epics, comics, and biographies that keep me entertained, and audiobooks when I’m away from my home. 

The best part? It’s not just books. My library also has things like my funko pop collections, pictures from comic cons, postcards for scrapbooking, and random little treasures tucked between the pages — because sometimes, a book or collection is more than just a story. It’s a whole world. 

**The glass display is located on the 2nd floor of the Joint-Use Library (VA Beach Campus).  The display will be up until the end of the semester.**

When embarking on a research journey, you'll often encounter the terms "primary sources" and "secondary sources." While primary sources provide direct evidence from the time of an event, secondary sources interpret and analyze these original materials. In this post, we’ll dive into what secondary sources are, their importance, and how to effectively utilize them in your research.  For example, a biography about an author is considered a secondary source, while the words or original work from the author is considered a primary source. 

What Are Secondary Sources?

Secondary sources are interpretations or analyses of primary sources. They often summarize, critique, or synthesize information gathered from original materials. Common types of secondary sources include:

• Books: Academic texts that provide comprehensive analyses of specific topics, often referencing multiple primary sources.
• Journal Articles: Scholarly articles that discuss research findings, theories, and historical interpretations based on primary data.
• Biographies: Works that offer insights into the lives of individuals, using primary materials like letters and diaries to construct narratives.
• Documentaries: Films or series that analyze historical events using interviews, footage, and expert commentary.
• Encyclopedias and Textbooks: Reference materials that provide overviews and context on a variety of subjects.

Secondary sources play a crucial role in research, offering valuable interpretations and analyses that enhance your understanding of a topic. By effectively utilizing these resources, you can navigate the complexities of your subject matter with greater clarity and depth. Whether you're a student, educator, or lifelong learner, engaging with secondary sources will empower you to contribute thoughtfully to the ongoing conversations in your field.

Happy researching!

**Some information in this post was inspired by ChatGPT.**

🚫🔍 Why Google Isn’t Your Best Friend for Academic Research! 📚✨

Hey there, knowledge adventurers! 🧙‍♀️ Are you ready to level up your research game? While Google is great for cat videos and recipe hunting, it might not be your trusty sidekick for academic research. Let’s explore why it’s time to step away from the search bar and into the library! 🌟

🌐 The Google Mirage

Google can feel like a vast desert of information, but beware! Many of the “facts” you find may not be reliable. It’s like a treasure hunt where you might end up with fool’s gold! 🏴‍☠️ You need scholarly sources, not random blog posts or Wikipedia entries.  Ask yourself who can add and make changes on Google & Wikipedia?  

🧙‍♂️ Enter the Library: Your Research Wizard!

Your library is a magical realm filled with vetted, peer-reviewed resources! Here’s why it’s your best bet for serious research:

1. Credibility is Key: Academic journals and books are like enchanted scrolls—they’ve been reviewed and vetted by experts in the field. TCC Libraries offers you a way to evaluate sources in order to find the right resources for your assignment.  You won’t find that level of quality just scrolling through Google! 📜✨
2. Access to Databases: Your library grants you access to fantastic research databases like Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, and so much more. These are treasure troves of scholarly articles, books, and reports that you won’t find on a simple Google search. 🚪🔑
3. Narrow Your Focus: Libraries have specialized databases and research guides for every subject imaginable. Need articles on climate change? There’s a database for that! Want historical documents? They’ve got you covered! 🌎📖
4. Advanced Search Tools: While Google might overwhelm you with results, library databases have advanced search features that let you filter by subject, publication date, and more. It’s like having a magic map that leads you straight to the good stuff! 🗺️✨

🏰 Bonus: Help is Always Nearby!

Your librarians are likewise wizards ready to assist you whether in-person or online, you can reach out to a TCC Librarian through Ask a Librarian! Whether you need help with citations, finding specific sources, or navigating databases, they’ve got your back. Don’t hesitate to ask for help! 🧙‍♂️📞

**Some information in this post was inspired by ChatGPT.**

As you embark on your academic journey at TCC, know the library team is ready to help you thrive-- whether you attend classes in-person or virtually. 🤝🎓

👩‍🏫 Who Are the Library Staff?

1. Librarians: These information wizards specialize in research strategies, resource management, and reference services. They’re ready to assist you in finding credible sources, citing your work, and developing effective research skills. 🔍✨
2. Library Assistants: The friendly faces you see at the front desk! They can help check out books, answer your questions, and guide you to the right resources. Need a quick answer? They’re your go-to team! 📖🙌

🎉 Get to Know Your Library Staff as well as Our  Services and Resources!

Next time you visit the library, take a moment to introduce yourself to the staff. Ask questions, seek assistance, or just chat about your interests.

**Some information in this post was inspired by ChatGPT.**

Do you ever get confused about what are primary sources?  What exactly are they, and why should you care? Incorporating primary sources into your research enriches your understanding and allows you to engage more deeply with history. 

What Are Primary Sources?

Primary sources are original materials created at the time of an event or phenomenon. They offer first-hand accounts and direct evidence of the subject you're studying. Common types of primary sources include:

• Diaries and Journals: Personal reflections that provide insight into daily life and personal experiences.
• Letters and Correspondence: Communication between individuals that reveals thoughts, feelings, and perspectives.
• Official Documents: Government records, treaties, and legislation that shed light on political and legal contexts.
• Photographs and Artifacts: Visual evidence that captures moments in time and cultural expressions.
• Newspaper Articles: Reports from the time that offer contemporary reactions to events.

Why Are Primary Sources Important?

1. Authenticity: Primary sources allow researchers to engage directly with original materials, fostering a deeper connection to historical events.
2. Diverse Perspectives: They provide varied viewpoints, allowing you to see history through the eyes of those who lived it. This can lead to a more nuanced understanding of complex issues.
3. Critical Thinking: Analyzing primary sources encourages critical thinking. You must evaluate the context, purpose, and audience of the material, honing your analytical skills.
4. Original Research: Using primary sources can lead to unique insights and interpretations, contributing to new scholarship in your field.
5. Connection to the Past: Engaging with primary sources can make history feel more tangible, bridging the gap between the past and the present.
   

TCC Libraries has a Primary Sources/Primary Research Guide to aid you in understanding resources that are at your fingertips.

Happy researching!

**Some information in this post was inspired by ChatGPT.**

As a new semester begins, let's explore ways to be successful on your quest for research and knowledge:

1. Learn what’s available to you through TCC Libraries & Tutoring.
2. Browse our TCC Libraries website and discover all the amazing resources waiting for you.
3. Dive into Databases: Start searching for quality, peer-reviewed articles that will enhance your research.
4. Explore our Research Guides:  With these subject-oriented research guides, we have pulled the resources that can aid you in your classes. 
5. Discover  options for Tutoring & Writing Center assistance. 
6. Embrace Originality: Use the knowledge you gain to craft your unique academic narrative!

So, next time you think about Googling for your research, remember the library is your true ally in the quest for knowledge! Happy researching and good luck with your quest--should you choose to accept it :) ! 📚✨

**Some information in this post was inspired by ChatGPT.**

Books & Beyond Libraries & Tutoring Exploration Day!

Wednesday, January 29th from 11:30am-1:30pm @ all campus libraries.

Learn more about our services and resources that can support you throughout the semester!

Each year, we celebrate the life and impact of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., a leader whose vision for racial justice reshaped the United States. Born on January 15, 1929, in Atlanta, Georgia, Dr. King became the face of the Civil Rights Movement, leading nonviolent protests and advocating for social change.

His most iconic moment came during the March on Washington in 1963, where he delivered his famous "I Have a Dream" speech, calling for a future where all people are judged by their character, not the color of their skin. Dr. King’s work helped lead to the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and the Voting Rights Act of 1965, significant milestones in the fight for equality.

Libraries play a crucial role in preserving and sharing Dr. King’s legacy, offering resources such as books, documentaries, and educational programs that continue to inspire new generations. His commitment to justice and nonviolence reminds us that the fight for equality is ongoing.

This Martin Luther King Jr. Day, take time to reflect on his vision for a just world and explore the many resources available at the library.

TCC Libraries has you covered for resources on Martin Luther King Jr.  Check out Kanopy and other databases the library has to offer!