This 4th of July, as we celebrate the birth of the United States, our collections offer a perfect opportunity to reflect on the history that shaped our nation. From the Declaration of Independence to the Revolutionary War and beyond, we have a wealth of resources that can deepen your understanding of events in U.S. History. Explore our collections to uncover primary sources and analyses through our United States History Research Guide.
Summer is here in full swing, and while we love the sunshine, the soaring temperatures can be a bit much! Whether you're walking to the library, biking around town, or just enjoying a good book on your porch, it's important to stay safe and cool during these hot months.
Here are a few friendly reminders from your local TCC Library:
🌡️ Hydrate, Hydrate, Hydrate
Bring a reusable water bottle with you when you visit. Staying hydrated helps you stay alert and comfortable—especially if you're planning to spend a few hours browsing or reading.
🧢 Dress for the Weather
Light, breathable clothing and a wide-brimmed hat can make a big difference. And don’t forget sunscreen if you’re walking or biking to the library!
📚 Cool Down with a Good Book
Our air-conditioned reading areas are the perfect escape from the heat. Whether you're into mysteries, memoirs, or middle-grade adventures, we’ve got something for everyone.
Summer is heating up, and so is the excitement at the Va Beach Public Library! Whether you're a fan of delicious food, dazzling magic, or whimsical balloon art, there's something for everyone in this season's Summer Events Series. Mark your calendars and bring your appetite—these events are not to be missed!
Kick off the month with a sweet and savory celebration!
Prepare to be amazed by the incredible John Kingry and his magical performance!
Experience the thrill of opposites with the Fire and Ice event—expect surprises!
End the summer with laughter and creativity as Ryan the Balloon Guy brings his balloon artistry to life!
🚫🔍 Why Google Isn’t Your Best Friend for Academic Research! 📚✨
Hey there, knowledge adventurers! 🧙♀️ Are you ready to level up your research game? While Google is great for cat videos and recipe hunting, it might not be your trusty sidekick for academic research. Let’s explore why it’s time to step away from the search bar and into the library! 🌟
🌐 The Google Mirage
Google can feel like a vast desert of information, but beware! Many of the “facts” you find may not be reliable. It’s like a treasure hunt where you might end up with fool’s gold! 🏴☠️ You need scholarly sources, not random blog posts or Wikipedia entries. Ask yourself who can add and make changes on Google & Wikipedia?
🧙♂️ Enter the Library: Your Research Wizard!
Your library is a magical realm filled with vetted, peer-reviewed resources! Here’s why it’s your best bet for serious research:
🏰 Bonus: Help is Always Nearby!
Your librarians are likewise wizards ready to assist you whether in-person or online, you can reach out to a TCC Librarian through Ask a Librarian! Whether you need help with citations, finding specific sources, or navigating databases, they’ve got your back. Don’t hesitate to ask for help! 🧙♂️📞
**Some information in this post was inspired by ChatGPT.**
🌟 What is Academic Search Complete?
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive multidisciplinary database that can be used for any subject you are studying and can provide access to scholarly journals, magazines, and other academic resources. This database is designed to be used for any discipline or program of study. You can locate Academic Search Complete on the A to Z Database List.
🔍 Why Use Academic Search Complete?
Happy researching, and may you uncover a wealth of knowledge along the way! 📚✨Please be sure to reach out to your local TCC Librarian if you need help whether in-person or online through Ask a Librarian.
**Some information in this post was inspired by ChatGPT.**
Did you know that TCC Libraries offer free access to a wide range of movies, documentaries, and educational videos? Whether you're looking to unwind with a classic film or dive into a thought-provoking documentary, our collection has something for everyone.
Check out these media collection: Swank, Kanopy, and Films On Demand to discover your next favorite film or documentary!
With the busy pace of the semester, it’s easy to overlook some of the valuable resources your TCC Libraries offers. Here’s a quick rundown of library services that could make your academic life easier—whether you're wrapping up the semester or preparing for the next one:
Stop by the Va Beach Joint-Use Library this summer and check out our new “From Screen to Shelf” display—featuring books, scripts, and behind-the-scenes reads inspired by popular movies, TV shows, and plays!
Love Bridgerton? Curious about the real history behind Oppenheimer? Obsessed with Euphoria or Hamilton? We’ve got something for you.
📌 Add your favorite to the wall!
We want to know what you’re watching or rewatching. Post your favorite title and why you love it—then see what your fellow students are into!
Come get inspired, discover something new, and maybe even find your next binge-worthy read!
Check out some resources that your TCC Libraries has to offer!
