Hello, scholars and students! In the vast world of online information, Google Scholar can be an invaluable tool for your research needs. But when is the best time to reach for this academic search engine? Let’s break it down!
Your TCC Libraries offers you many different subject research databases to search through for your academic research. Not all databases are the same and have every article you are searching for, but at times Google Scholar may the article you are searching for with full text. If neither the library databases nor Google Scholar has your article, then you can put in a request in through Interlibrary Loan. Please be aware of your time when requesting materials. TCC Libraries can normally get articles within a 24-hour period.
🌟 Maximize Your Research!
Happy researching, and may your scholarly adventures be fruitful! 📖✨
**Some information in this post was inspired by ChatGPT.**
Hello, knowledge seekers! In today’s digital world, having access to computers can make a huge difference in your academic journey. Your TCC Libraries are not just a treasure trove of books; it’s also equipped with powerful computers designed to support your studies and research. Let’s explore the fantastic benefits of using library computers!
Research Made Easy: With access to a wide range of databases, research guides geared to your courses, online journals, and eBooks, library computers are your gateway to credible sources. Say goodbye to endless Googling and hello to reliable information! 🔍✨
Software and Tools: Many library computers are loaded with software or even specialized software needed for your classes.Whether you’re working on a presentation or a creative project, you’ll find the tools you need right at your fingertips! 🛠️🎨
Printing: Need a hard copy of your assignment? Library computers allow you to print documents easily. Just bring your student ID, and you’re all set to get your 100 free prints (per semester)! 📄🖨️
Collaborative Projects: Work on group assignments with ease! Many libraries have computers set up in collaborative spaces, so you and your classmates can brainstorm, share ideas, and create together. Whether using computers in the lab or study rooms, we have you covered to get your projects done!🤝💡
Access to Online Tutoring: Dive into online tutoring when you need help with your courses.🎓✨
🎉 Make the Most of Your TCC Library Computers!
Next time you need to tackle a research project, finish an assignment, or just explore new ideas, head to your library’s computer lab! It’s a fantastic resource that can enhance your academic experience and set you up for success.If your computer goes down the library has computers and study rooms with computers to get your work done.
Happy computing, and see you at you local TCC Library! 📚✨
**Some information in this post was inspired by ChatGPT.**
Hello, students and scholars! As you dive into your research projects, it’s crucial to have the right tools at your fingertips. One such tool is Academic Search Complete—a powerful database that can elevate your research game! Let’s explore what it is, how to use it, and why it should be your go-to resource for academic inquiries.
🌟 What is Academic Search Complete?
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive multidisciplinary database that can be used for any subject you are studying and can provide access to scholarly journals, magazines, and other academic resources. This database is designed to be used for any discipline or program of study. You can locate Academic Search Complete on the A to Z Database List.
🔍 Why Use Academic Search Complete?
Extensive Coverage: With millions of articles available, Academic Search Complete covers a wide range of subjects, making it suitable for nearly any research topic you might encounter.
Peer-Reviewed Sources: The database primarily includes peer-reviewed journals, ensuring that the information you’re accessing is credible and reliable—perfect for academic work!
Advanced Search Options: Use advanced search features to refine your results. Filter by publication date, source type, and more to find exactly what you need quickly.
Happy researching, and may you uncover a wealth of knowledge along the way! 📚✨Please be sure to reach out to your local TCC Librarian if you need help whether in-person or online through Ask a Librarian.
**Some information in this post was inspired by ChatGPT.**
Read the abstract before downloading a long scholarly journal article to make sure it's relevant to your topic and worth your time to read.
If TCC doesn't own the book or article you're looking for you, you can request an Interlibrary Loan, and we'll try to get it for you from another institution! Just remember to leave enough time to receive the item!
Google Scholar can be checked to see if the article is openly available! Simply copy the citation and paste in quotes to see if full-text is available. This is helpful if you don't have time to wait for an Interlibrary loan!
Did you get too many search results? Consider filtering or limiting to specific publication date ranges, languages, full text, peer-reviewed, or publication type.
Ever wondered what "Peer-Reviewed" means? The article in a peer-reviewed publication must go through a stringent review process by fellow experts in that field of study to ensure it is well-written, scientifically valid, aligned with standard rules of ethics, and contributes new and significant findings.
Appropriate publication dates can vary by field of study. Research in the arts and humanities can include a wider range of publication dates as timely resources depending on the research need. Research in the sciences, including health and medicine, should focus on the most recent publications, which will discuss past research in the introductions of the articles.
Research is more of an art than a science. Approach your searches with an open mind and consider the ways the authors talk about the topic to identify different keywords and subjects.
You don't have to be on campus to search the library databases! Log in using your myTCC credentials to access full-text articles, ebooks, streaming videos, and more!
Searching for a specific phrase? Try putting the words in quotations in the search box. "Physical therapy" is a much more specific search than physical therapy. The database assumes you want all results with the words physical and therapy.
Not sure where to start with your research? Check out the TCC Libraries Research Guides. We will have a guide related to your class or your topic that will list the relevant databases, areas in the book collection to browse, and a Research Step-by-Step module.
This week, we continue our trek to refresh our researching skills. This week, we'll explore Developing a Search Strategy & locating books/eBooks.
Before searching our databases, it will be helpful to choose a topic as well as develop keywords to use in your search. Please explore these resources on selecting a topic and developing a search strategy.
The next step in the research process involves locating books and eBooks. Whether you are looking for a good read or a source for an assignment, the library has you covered! Explore our instructional videos and materials to learn how to search the Library Catalog, discover eBook databases and more! As always, please contact us if you have any questions!
Comment and share with us what you are currently reading.
In the ever-evolving landscape of higher education, the role of the college library has transformed from a mere repository of books to a vibrant hub of learning and collaboration. At the heart of this transformation lies a crucial partnership: the collaboration between librarians and instructors.
In Professor Orlando Stone’s English class, traditional literature meets the silver screen as students learn from Librarian Missy Comer how to find films to review based on movies available in the library’s collection. She also navigates students through the process of locating top critics and reliable biographical information on directors, actors and others tied to the film the student has chosen to review.
Together, Stone and Comer play a pivotal role in this cinematic journey of inspiring students to explore, learn and grow.
