Academics & So Much More! Blog

1. Study Spaces Galore: TCC Libraries offers a variety of study environments—quiet zones for deep focus, group study rooms for collaboration, and even cozy nooks with comfy seating for reading.
2. Tech Resources: Beyond books, academic libraries provide access to software needed to complete your classwork. 
3. Research Wizards: Librarians in academic settings are specially trained to help you navigate complex research databases. They can assist with everything from finding peer-reviewed articles to assisting with citation styles!
4. Interlibrary Loans: If your library doesn’t have a particular book or resource, many academic libraries participate in interlibrary loan programs, meaning you can borrow materials from other institutions!  Please be aware of your time when requesting materials.  Before submitting the request check to see if the article is available through full-text on Google Scholar.  
5. Diverse Collections: TCC Libraries strive to create inclusive collections that reflect diverse perspectives. You’ll find materials that cover a wide range of cultures, languages, and subjects.
6. Open 24/7 online: TCC libraries have online resources that are available 24/7 from accessing databases to chatting with a librarian 24/7 through Ask a Librarian. 
7. Digital Resources: TCC Libraries provide access to an extensive array of digital resources, including eBooks, online journals, and multimedia materials, allowing you to study from anywhere!
8. Subject specific Research Guides:  research guides have been created by the librarians with you in mind to aid you in your research.  Resources have been picked to aid you in finding the necessary resources you need for your assignment to be successful!
9. Community Hub: Beyond serving students and faculty, academic libraries often engage with the broader community through public events, outreach programs, and collaborative projects.

🥳 Celebrate Your TCC Library!

Your local campus library no matter which campus you are close to can aid you in your research, and they offer so much more than just books! So next time you visit, take a moment to appreciate all the resources and opportunities available to you. Happy exploring! 📚✨

**Some information in this post was inspired by ChatGPT.**

As a new semester begins, let's explore ways to be successful on your quest for research and knowledge:

1. Learn what’s available to you through TCC Libraries & Tutoring.
2. Browse our TCC Libraries website and discover all the amazing resources waiting for you.
3. Dive into Databases: Start searching for quality, peer-reviewed articles that will enhance your research.
4. Explore our Research Guides:  With these subject-oriented research guides, we have pulled the resources that can aid you in your classes. 
5. Discover  options for Tutoring & Writing Center assistance. 
6. Embrace Originality: Use the knowledge you gain to craft your unique academic narrative!

So, next time you think about Googling for your research, remember the library is your true ally in the quest for knowledge! Happy researching and good luck with your quest--should you choose to accept it :) ! 📚✨

**Some information in this post was inspired by ChatGPT.**

As finals week approaches, the pressure can feel overwhelming—but don’t worry, the TCC Libraries are here to help you power through! Whether you’re cramming for exams or putting the finishing touches on your final papers, we’ve got resources and spaces designed to support your success.

Study Spaces: Need a quiet place to focus? We’ve got plenty of study rooms and quiet corners. First-come, first-served, so come early to snag your spot!

Research & Tutoring Help: Stuck on a research paper or need help with citations? Our librarians are ready to assist you in person or online. Librarians are available 24/7 through Ask a Librarian.  

Needing last minute help with your classes?  

Tutoring Appointments: are available with TCC Tutoring which offers both in-person and online appointments to help you with English, math and subject-specific assignments. Also available is After-hours tutoring provided online through Brainfuse.  Don’t hesitate to reach out! 

You’ve got this—let your campus library be your study partner during finals week. Come by, get the support you need, and finish strong! 📚✨

What are you thankful for? We are thankful for our students, staff, faculty, and community patrons.

Take a break from studying by checking out some of our streaming databases or popular DVDs. Be sure to laugh and relax! Some of our video streaming databases are: Films On Demand, Kanopy, and Swank Digital Campus. We also have some popular movies at all of our campus libraries, from Star Wars to Love Actually be sure to check out our library catalog for a great movie night!

TCC Libraries & Tutoring wish everyone a happy and safe holiday!

(Blog post co-authored by Ruthie D., TCC Libraries, Portsmouth)

October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month. Here are a few examples of what TCC Libraries have available.

• Health Portal Research Guide
• More information, including overviews and statistics, is available through the American Cancer Society.    

Need more help? We look forward to hearing from you!

Hey there! The TCC Librarians are here to share tips for avoiding plagiarism. First, it is critical to define a few terms:

• Plagiarism: presenting within one's own work the ideas, representations, or words of another person, or artificial intelligence, without customary and proper acknowledgement of that person's authorship. (3.1.3 TCC Code of Student Rights and Responsibilities)
• Citation: basic information required to identify and locate a specific source (TCC Libraries)

• Paraphrasing: expressing what is written/spoken using different words than the original author used, but conveying the same meaning (Collins Dictionary)

  

Now, as promised, those two tips for avoiding plagiarism:

1. Cite your sources correctly
2. Paraphrase information 

Still  have questions? Stop by a library or meet with a writing tutor! 

TCC Libraries & Tutoring are thrilled to announce our new digital subscription to the New York Times.  

All faculty, staff and students now have access.  We encourage you to take advantage of this resource and create a personal account where all articles, instructional tools, and multimedia are available to you!  https://libguides.tcc.edu/topic/NYT 

Image: Christy C., TCC Libraries, 2023

(Blog post authored by Christy C., TCC Libraries, Norfolk)

Hey besties, let’s talk for a minute about banned and challenged books.

So, banned and challenged books are a big deal in the literary world. 

• Banned books are ones that have officially been prohibited and completely removed from public institutions, therefore restricting access to the content.
• Challenged books face objections or concerns, but may still be available while the challenge is being addressed.

So, why should we even care? Well, it’s all about freedom of speech and expression. 

These books can tackle some heavy topics like LGBTQ+ issues, racism, religion and even sexual content. They often give a voice to marginalized communities and help us understand their experiences. Literature helps us think about all viewpoints and experiences.

But here’s the kicker: banning or challenging these books doesn’t make those issues disappear! Let's have conversations and celebrate the freedom to read!

So, next time you spot a banned or challenged book, grab it, devour it, and share it with your friends. Keep the pages turning during Banned Books Week and beyond!

Tag us on social media and tell us what your favorite banned books are! Also, comment on this blog post!

Celebrate Hispanic Heritage Month, Sept 15th - Oct 15th, by diving into a curated collection of films and documentaries on Kanopy that honor the cultures, histories, and achievements of Hispanic communities.

Discover new perspectives and connect with impactful narratives
this Hispanic Heritage Month!

Visit our library’s Kanopy Page to start streaming and exploring today:
www.kanopy.com/category/65202. 

Latin Studies Research Guide (TCC Libraries)

 National Hispanic Heritage Month (Library of Congress)

Welcome to the Fall 2024 semester! You've got this!

Visit a tutoring center, library or access our digital resources & services. TCC Libraries & Tutoring are here to help you with academics and so much more! 

Check back often to discover free classes and events, too! 

Subscribe, comment and visit our blog often to stay informed.

Are you ready to dive into a world of knowledge and adventure? Mark your calendars for September 10, 2024, from 11:30am to 1:30pm, and join us at your campus library for our Libraries and Tutoring Open House event. Get ready to discover how libraries and tutoring can support your academic success.

 This event is designed to help you unlock your inner champion by showing you the resources available at your fingertips. Whether you need help with your studies or are looking for a quiet place to focus, the campus libraries and tutoring centers have got you covered.

Question: How can I learn about the resources & services available to me through Libraries & Tutoring?

Answer: Our website is a great place to start! Whether you bookmark our website directly, access through Canvas, or navigate through the TCC website, hundreds of resources are awaiting you! We are academics and so much more!

Need more help finding our website? Please see the short video within this post for an overview!

https://libguides.tcc.edu/library