Academics & So Much More! Blog

1.  Having trouble coming up with a research topic? All-in-one databases like Opposing Viewpoints in Context are excellent for exploring ideas! 

2.  You can search multiple databases at one time when using Academic Search Complete.

3.  Reach out to a librarian if you are not sure about the resources you have access to.  You have access to a librarian 24/7 through Ask a Librarian!

4.  Don't get discouraged if you do not get any results at first, you may need to change your subject or keywords for your research.

5.  Research something you are interested in, so you'll be inspired to do your best work!

1.  Read the abstract before downloading a long scholarly journal article to make sure it's relevant to your topic and worth your time to read.
2. If TCC doesn't own the book or article you're looking for you, you can request an Interlibrary Loan, and we'll try to get it for you from another institution!  Just remember to leave enough time to receive the item!
3. Google Scholar can be checked to see if the article is openly available! Simply copy the citation and paste in quotes to see if full-text is available. This is helpful if you don't have time to wait for an Interlibrary loan!
4. Did you get too many search results? Consider filtering or limiting to specific publication date ranges, languages, full text, peer-reviewed, or publication type.
5. Ever wondered what "Peer-Reviewed" means? The article in a peer-reviewed publication must go through a stringent review process by fellow experts in that field of study to ensure it is well-written, scientifically valid, aligned with standard rules of ethics, and contributes new and significant findings.

1. Appropriate publication dates can vary by field of study. Research in the arts and humanities can include a wider range of publication dates as timely resources depending on the research need. Research in the sciences, including health and medicine, should focus on the most recent publications, which will discuss past research in the introductions of the articles. 
2. Research is more of an art than a science. Approach your searches with an open mind and consider the ways the authors talk about the topic to identify different keywords and subjects.
3. You don't have to be on campus to search the library databases! Log in using your myTCC credentials to access full-text articles, ebooks, streaming videos, and more!
4. Searching for a specific phrase? Try putting the words in quotations in the search box. "Physical therapy" is a much more specific search than physical therapy. The database assumes you want all results with the words physical and therapy.
5. Not sure where to start with your research? Check out the TCC Libraries Research Guides. We will have a guide related to your class or your topic that will list the relevant databases, areas in the book collection to browse, and a Research Step-by-Step module.