Research Guides: LGBTQ+ Studies: Home

The purpose of this guide is to promote the LGBTQ+ resources offered at Tidewater Community College.

PRIDE_Flag

Photo from Pixabay this file is made available under the Creative Commons CC0 1.0

Specific Call Numbers to Browse

Specific Call Numbers to browse

HQ23: Sexual Orientation

HQ73: Queer Studies

HQ74- 74.2: Bisexuality

HQ75-76.8: Homosexuality

KF4754.5: LGBT+ Legal Rights

RA564.9 H65: LGBT Health Care

Website List

After Marriage Equality by Carlos A. Ball (Editor)
Call Number: HQ73.3.U6 A38 2016
ISBN: 9781479883080
Publication Date: 2016-06-14
Real Queer America by Samantha Allen
Call Number: HQ76.3.U52 M533 2019
ISBN: 9780316516037
Publication Date: 2019-03-05
Black Sexualities by Juan Battle (Editor)
ISBN: 9780813546018
Publication Date: 2009-11-24
Bloom by Kevin Panetta; Savanna Ganucheau (Illustrator)
Call Number: PN6727.P3648 B56 2019
ISBN: 9781626726413
Publication Date: 2019-01-29

Carol
Two women from very different backgrounds find themselves in an unexpected love affair in 1950s New York. As conventional norms of the time challenge their undeniable attraction, an honest story emerges to reveal the resilience of the heart in the face of change. A young woman in her twenties, Therese is a clerk working in a Manhattan department store and dreaming of a more fulfilling life when she meets Carol, an alluring woman trapped in a loveless, convenient marriage.

PN1995.9.L48 C37 2016
more...less...
Todd Haynes film director. Phyllis Nagy screenwriter. Elizabeth Karlsen film producer. Stephen Woolley film producer. Christine Vachon film producer. Cate Blanchett 1969- actor. Rooney Mara actor. Sarah Paulson 1974- actor. Kyle Chandler actor. Jake Lacy actor. Cory Michael Smith 1986- actor. John Magaro 1983- actor. Kevin Crowley actor. Carrie Brownstein 1974- actor. Nik Pajic actor. Sandy Powell costume designer. Carter Burwell composer (expression) Affonso Gonçalves editor of moving image work. Judy Becker (Motion picture art director), production designer. Edward Lachman 1948- director of photography. Claire Morgan 1921-1995. Weinstein Company, production company, presenter. FilmFour (Firm), production company, presenter. Studio Canal, production company. HanWay (Firm), production company. Goldcrest Pictures, production company. Dirty Films, production company. Infilm (Firm), production company. Number 9 Films, production company. Killer Films, production company. Larkhark Films, production company. Weinstein Company, presenter. Weinstein Company Home Entertainment (Firm), publisher. Anchor Bay Entertainment, Inc., publisher.
Beverly Hills, CA : Anchor Bay Entertainment : The Weinstein Company Home Entertainment 2016
Moonlight
A young black man struggles to find his place in the world while growing up in a rough neighborhood of Miami.

PN1995.9.N4 M66 2017
more...less...
André Holland actor. Barry Jenkins 1979- film director, screenwriter. Adele Romanski film producer. Dede Gardner film producer. Jeremy Kleiner film producer. Trevante Rhodes 1990- actor. Janelle Monáe actor. Ashton Sanders 1995- actor. Jharrel Jerome 1997- actor. Naomie Harris 1976- actor. Mahershala Ali 1974- actor. Alex R. Hibbert actor. Jaden Piner actor. Shariff Earp actor. Duan Sanderson actor. Nicholas Britell 1980- composer (expression) James Laxton director of photography. Nat Sanders editor of moving image work. Joi McMillon editor of moving image work. Hannah Beachler production designer. Caroline Eselin-Schaefer costume designer. Tarell Alvin McCraney A24 (Firm), presenter. Plan B Entertainment, presenter, production company. Pastel (Firm), production company. Lions Gate Entertainment (Firm), publisher.
Santa Monica, California : Lionsgate 2017
My Transgender Life
Seven transgender individuals share their experiences of what it is like to be born the wrong sex, the path to transitioning, and their lives afterward.

HQ77.9 .M9 2016

GLAAD
GLAAD has worked with news, entertainment and social media to bring culture-changing stories of LGBT people into millions of homes and workplaces every day. Read online reports.
A Guide to Gender Identity Terms
Pronouns are basically how we identify ourselves apart from our name. It's how someone refers to you in conversation," says Mary Emily O'Hara, a communications officer at GLAAD. "And when you're speaking to people, it's a really simple way to affirm their identity.
Intersex Society of North America
The Intersex Society of North America (ISNA) is devoted to systemic change to end shame, secrecy, and unwanted genital surgeries for people born with an anatomy that someone decided is not standard for male or female.
It Get Better
The It Gets Better Project was created to show young LGBT people around the globe the levels of happiness, potential, and positivity their lives will reach – if they can just get through their teen years. The It Gets Better Project wants to remind teenagers in the LGBT community that they are not alone — and it WILL get better.
LAMBDA Legal
Lambda Legal is a national organization committed to achieving full recognition of the civil rights of lesbians, gay men, bisexuals, transgender people and those with HIV through impact litigation, education and public policy work.
National Lesbian and Gay Journalist Association
Founded in 1990, NLGJA is an organization of journalists, media professionals, educators and students working from within the news industry to foster fair and accurate coverage of LGBT issues. NLGJA opposes all forms of workplace bias and provides professional development to its members.
The Trevor Project
The Trevor Project is the leading national organization providing crisis intervention and suicide prevention services to lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and questioning youth.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more.
Searching on the New EBSCO User Interfaces (Video 3:28)
Archives of Sexuality and Gender This link opens in a new window
A robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of electronic books, including the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion eBook Collection, with titles covering Asian Studies, Women’s Studies, Black Studies, Hispanic/Latino Studies and much more.
Help Searching eBook Central (video 3:30)
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Streaming videos and documentaries on a variety of subjects.
- Getting started with Kanopy (website)
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Online catalog to thousands of the world’s libraries
- WorldCat Search Tips(website)

LGBTQ+ Studies

Ask a Librarian

Make a Tutoring Appointment

Specific Call Numbers to Browse

TCC Library Catalog

Specific Call Numbers to browse

Website List