Research Guides: Health Portal: Articles

Health & Medicine Databases

Try the following databases for scholarly journal articles on health topics. Not sure where to start? Health Source and CINAHL are great databases for health and medicine research with full-text articles. PubMed is excellent for finding articles, but does not always provide the full article for you to read.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more.
Searching on the New EBSCO User Interfaces (Video 3:28)
Agricultural Science Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection contains agricultural science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from AGRICOLA. AGRICOLA is the definitive bibliographic database to agricultural science literature. Coverage: 1970 - current.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Provide state-of-the-art reports by experts on the current scholarship in biomedical/life sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences, full-text review essays since 1996.
Archives of Sexuality and Gender This link opens in a new window
A robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender.
Biological Science Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection contains biological science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from Biological Sciences database.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly/peer-reviewed journals covering all areas and nursing and allied health including peer-reviewed journal articles, evidence-based care plans, quick lessons, patient teaching materials, case studies, continuing education units (CEU), and more.
Searching on the New EBSCO User Interfaces (Video 3:28)
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly/peer-reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers, and more for patients.
Searching on the New EBSCO User Interfaces (Video 3:28)
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Provides a variety of reference resources on a wide range of subject areas.
Help Searching Gale eBooks(video 1:15)
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Full-text magazines, newspapers, and pamphlets about health and medical topics for patients.
Searching on the New EBSCO User Interfaces (Video 3:28)
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly/peer-reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers about health and medical topics for nurses and allied health professionals.
Searching on the New EBSCO User Interfaces (Video 3:28)
Medline This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly/peer-reviewed journals related to life sciences and biomedicine.
- Help using Medline (Proquest Research Guide)
Medline Plus This link opens in a new window
Full-text website covering medicine and health information for patients.
- Introduction to Medline Plus (video 3:32)
New England Journal of Medicine This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly/peer-reviewed journal.
PapersFirst This link opens in a new window
Index to papers presented at conferences, workshops, congresses and symposia worldwide.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Publicly available website with open access to many scholarly/peer-reviewed journals and other publications related to biomedical literature.
- PubMed Online Training Videos (website)
Salem Press Online This link opens in a new window
Research titles for careers, historical primary documents, literature, and general health.
- Salem Press Online: Intro Video (video 2:07)
Science in Context This link opens in a new window
Topic overviews, experiments, biographies, pictures, and illustrations; curriculum-related science topics.
- Topic Finder (video 1:42)
Very Short Introductions Online This link opens in a new window
Concise introductions to a diverse range of subjects.
- Short Guide (video 3:41)
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text, scholarly; journals, books, and other resources from John Wiley & Sons; life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.
- Advanced Search (video 2:57)

How Do I Research?

How do I find and use a database?
How do I search for articles?
Research Step-by-Step
An introduction for all students/courses on finding, evaluating, and citing information.
Reading Scholarly Articles
This guide from USC covers some excellent pointers on reading and evaluating scientific journal articles.

Health Portal

Ask a Librarian

Make a Tutoring Appointment

Health & Medicine Databases

How Do I Research?