The CFTE (Center for Teaching Excellence) Weekly Happenings! is a newsletter sent out from the Center of Teaching Excellence to faculty at Tidewater Community College. It is rich with information on resources to empower faculty, including AI. If you are faculty here and are not already subscribed you can do so by sending an email to cfte@tcc.edu
She also has another valuable Padlet entitled ChatGPT/AI Use Cases & Strategies in Higher Education.
SUGGESTED SEARCH TERMS:
|
ChatGPT |
Natural Language Understanding |
|
GPT-3.5 |
Conversational AI |
|
OpenAI |
Language Generation |
|
AI (Artificial Intelligence) |
Language Understanding AI |
|
Natural Language Processing (NLP) |
AI Applications |
|
Language Model |
Text Generation |
|
Deep Learning |
AI Ethics |
|
Machine Learning |
NLP Applications |
Artificial Intelligence Basics
by
A Citizen's Guide to Artificial Intelligence
by
The Ethics of Artificial Intelligence in Education
by
A multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more.
Searching on the New EBSCO User Interfaces (Video 3:28)
Full-text articles of computer and applied sciences publications.
Searching on the New EBSCO User Interfaces (Video 3:28)
Full-text access to journals related to education from the U.S. Dept. of Education.
Searching on the New EBSCO User Interfaces (Video 3:28)
Educational videos on a variety of topics including humanities, social sciences, business, economics, science, mathematics, health, medicine, technical education, family and consumer sciences, careers and job search, guidance and counseling and archival films and newsreels
Films on Demand in 1.5 Minutes (video 1.21)
Full-text ebooks, code snippets, certification preparation materials, practice exercises, training videos, and much more.
Help Searching O'Reilly for Higher Education (video 2:06)
Full-text; natural sciences, engineering and technology.
Help Searching SciTech Premium Collection (video 2:41)
Full-text, scholarly; journals, books, and other resources from John Wiley & Sons; life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.
Advanced Search (video 2:57)
From the April, 17, 2024 This Week at TCC Newsletter: As we continue to provide cutting-edge technology for our college community, it becomes increasingly vital to ensure oversight of emerging trends and tools in artificial intelligence (AI). An Artificial Intelligence Ad Hoc Committee has been formed to strategically coordinate initiatives which will serve both the academic and administrative areas of our institution. This represents a significant step towards integrating AI into our institutional framework, ensuring that all faculty, staff, and students are equipped with future-ready technology and knowledge. The following appointed members of the committee will help guide TCC through the complex landscape of AI, advancing our institution as a national leader in technological education and application.
Co-Chair: John Morea, Associate Vice President, Academic Affairs, Distance Learning, Virginia’s Community Colleges (VCCS) Educational Technology Committee Chair
Co-Chair: Melanie Gilchrist, Marketing, Public Relations Specialist and Multimedia Designer, Blacks in Technology Virginia HBCU and Higher Education Director
• Heather Brown, Center for Teaching Excellence, Instructional Designer, Educause AI Liaison
• Maureen Cahill, Teaching Faculty, Virginia Beach Faculty Senate Chair
• Beth Callahan, Student Affairs, Coordinator Office of Educational Accessibility
• Ryan Crocker, Office of Information Systems, Enterprise DevOps Engineer
• Debra Dart, Dean, Information Technology and Administrative Support Technology
• Kodi Flemming, Associate Vice President, Workforce Solutions, Professional Development
• Steve Litherland, Associate Vice President, Academic Affairs, Libraries
• Robyn Shavers, Financial Information Systems and Operations Analyst
• Tiffanye Sledge, Teaching Faculty, Former Faculty Senate Chair, VCCS AI Council
• Lizette White, Human Resources, Recruitment
