Library Collection Assessment @ TCC

Welcome to the Library Collection Assessment guide at Tidewater Community College. This guide is designed to provide transparency into the methods and priorities that shape the evaluation of our library collections. At TCC, we believe that continuous, data-informed assessment of our resources is essential to ensuring that students, faculty, and staff have access to current, curriculum-relevant materials. This guide outlines the goals, tools, procedures, and collaborative strategies we use to assess and improve our collections.

Our Commitment to Strategic Collection Assessment

The mission of TCC’s collection assessment process is to ensure that our library holdings meet the evolving academic needs of our community. We aim to maintain a high-quality collection that supports instruction, program development, and student learning outcomes.

Our goals include:

• Ensuring alignment with academic pathways and curriculum standards
• Supporting program-level and institutional accreditation efforts
• Identifying outdated, underused, or irrelevant materials for weeding

We perform targeted assessments by academic program to ensure that library resources support specific degree and certificate offerings. These reports summarize the size, age, and usage of the collection within subject classifications. They also compare current holdings to recommended core bibliographies, highlight gaps, and recommend acquisitions or deselections based on curriculum needs. Visualizations such as charts and graphs are included to aid in decision-making and transparency.

At TCC, we view collection assessment as a shared responsibility and a strategic opportunity. Through data, collaboration, and careful planning, we ensure that our library continues to provide resources that are timely and academically rigorous. We invite faculty, staff, and administration to partner with us in this ongoing effort. For additional information, support, or to request a customized collection report, please contact your liaison librarian or the Collection Services Librarian.

Anne Marie Welch, MLS
Collection Services Librarian
757-822-2646
awelch@tcc.edu