Home

(Post Author: AnneMarie W., Collection Services Librarian, College-wide)

The Artstor platform will sunset on August 1, 2024, but you can already start using the new platform at jstor.org/artstor. 

Lover’s Eyes. ca. 1840. Watercolor on ivory, 1 x 3/4 in. The Metropolitan Museum of Art. https://jstor.org/stable/community.18415965. 

Artstor — the digital library of high-quality images from leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists around the world — is now part of JSTOR, joining scholarly literature, primary sources, and helpful tools on one platform to strengthen the depth of your teaching and research. These two resources will become one on August 1, 2024, when the Artstor website will be retired. Learn about and try the updated version at https://www.jstor.org/artstor. 

Blog post authored by AnneMarie W., Collection Services Librarian)

As summer heats up, so does the selection of new eBooks at TCC Library. Whether you are a student, faculty member, or an avid reader, we have an exciting array of titles to keep your mind engaged and your curiosity piqued.

These new additions reflect a diverse range of topics and genres, ensuring that there is something for everyone. Check them out and discover your next great read at our community college library this summer!

Access these titles and more from the Library Catalog. 

#tccvalibraries #collections #eBooks

(Blog post authored by Dominique M., TCC Libraries, Chesapeake)

This week's recommendations for your TBR List!

A Silent Voice 

One act can change everything in your life, and Shoya learns this first hand. After bullying a deaf girl in his class in elementary school, his reputation tanks and he is left alone. He decides that his best course of action is to end it all, but before that, he decides to make amends. And through that process, he truly learns to not only love those around him, but also learns to love himself. This is a touching and raw story and is available for check out! 

Super Sons 

We all know the stories of Superman and Batman, but what about their sons? Read about the exploits of Jonathan Kent and Damien Wayne as they learn what it means to be a superhero all while growing up and dealing with the struggles of being kids. It’s available for check out so give it a read! 

#tccvalibraries #dominiquespicks #graphicnovels

July is National Culinary Arts Month! Come by your local TCC Campus Library to see what we have from recipes to learning more about the exciting world of culinary. TCC Libraries has you covered with so many resources that can help. Check out our National Culinary Arts Month Collection or our Culinary Arts Research Guide. 

#tccvalibraries

Post authored by Terri R., Librarian, Norfolk Campus

Are you ready to explore new worlds, learn new things, and have some fun? Then you’ll love the new books that are arriving at TCC Libraries every day. Whether you’re looking for nonfiction, fiction, children’s books, graphic novels, or something else, we have something for everyone. Come and join us in our journey of reading and discovery!

To see all our new books, click on this link: 

New Arrivals Collection

Don’t forget to bookmark the link so you can always check out the latest additions to our collection.  We hope to see you soon at TCC Libraries!

#tccvalibraries

(Blog post authored by Dominique M., TCC Libraries, Chesapeake)

This week's recommendations for your TBR List!

Injustice: Gods Among Us Year One

When Superman is subject to one of the Joker’s most heinous acts yet, he decides that there will be no more violence. This is the prequel to the critically acclaimed video game, going through the multiple years leading up to the start of the plotline of Injustice. Give it a read if you get a chance!

Cuisine Chinoise

A collection of short stories about food and life, and about how the two are so intrinsically connected. From talking animals, to a boy wanting to keep his family’s business afloat. There is something relatable in each of these stories and it’s available for checkout!

See You Tomorrow at the Food Court

A charming look at two high school friends who look like they’re on the total opposite side of the spectrum. But they have a special connection and meet up at the Food Court often to spend time together. This is a charming story about the friendship between these girls! Give it a read!

 

 

#tccvalibraries #dominiquespicks #graphicnovels #comics

Post shared by AnneMarie W., Librarian

Artstor is now available in its new home on JSTOR! When you search JSTOR, you will find Artstor’s 2+ million licensed images and more than 1,700 additional primary source collections alongside JSTOR’s vast collection of books, journal articles, and research reports. And, with JSTOR’s unique Workspace tool, you can easily save, organize, and teach with Arstor images alongside other JSTOR content in one convenient workflow. 

On August 1, 2024, the legacy Artstor website will be retired. If you use Artstor, you’re invited to get started on JSTOR now – check out the Artstor on JSTOR welcome page for everything you need to make your move. If you’ve never used Artstor before, now is a great time to try it out. Visit the Artstor on JSTOR LibGuide, or jump right in with an image search.  

#databases #tccvalibraries

Come by and check out all the amazing artwork from "The Recipe" art show.  Artwork will be displayed at the VA Beach Joint-Use Library on the first floor from June 18 - September 7, 2024.  

Image: "Databases", Canva Pro, 2023

(Co-authored by Yanira S., TCC Advising, Portsmouth)

Libraries have so much to offer and we'd like to highlight just a few databases available to you 24/7.

1. Academic Search Complete -A one-stop shop for historical and current information on a wide range of topics. Peer-reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers and more!

2. Virginia Career VIEW- Credible career information. Salaries, job duties, career planning and more!

3. Digital Theater + Enjoy stage performances without a monthly subscription fee!

Want even more resources? Check out our A-Z List! The excitement is limitless. To paraphrase Oprah, you get a database, you get a database, everyone gets a database (Applause and confetti!)! #librarianhumor

#tccvalibraries #databases #AcademicSearchComplete #VirginiaCareerVIEW #DigitalTheater+