Academics & So Much More! Blog - Research Guides at Tidewater Community College

Post Authored by Ruthie D., Portsmouth Campus

As the healthcare landscape continues to evolve, nursing students face increasing demands for evidence-based practice, interdisciplinary collaboration, and lifelong learning. At TCC Libraries, we’re committed to supporting nursing education by providing access to high-quality resources, research tools, and expert guidance. Check out our Nursing Research Guide to aid you in your research needs.

Here’s a glimpse at some of the books that are at your local TCC Libraries:

💡 Need Help?

Still stuck?

👉 Reach out to a librarian in person

💬 Or Ask a Librarian online 24/7 —we’re here to help you succeed!

Recent Posts

Discover Graphic Novels Spotlight at the TCC Portsmouth Campus Library!

Did you know the TCC Portsmouth Campus Library has a growing collection of graphic novels? Whether you're into superheroes, memoirs, fantasy, or historical fiction, there's something for everyone on our shelves.*authored by Kendra HawkinsHow to Check Them Out:Browse the Collection – Stop by the library and head to the graphic novels section. If you're not sure where to look, just ask a staff member—we're happy to help!Use the Catalog – You can also search for graphic novels online through the TCC Library Catalog. Just type in “graphic novels” or search by title, author, or genre.Borrowing – Once you’ve found a title you love, bring it to the front desk with your student ID. You can check out graphic novels just like any other book in the library.Loan Periods – Most graphic novels follow the standard checkout period, so you’ll have plenty of time to enjoy them. Renewals are available if no one else has requested the item.Graphic novels are a great way to unwind, explore new ideas, and even support your studies—many are used in literature, history, and art courses. Come explore the collection and find your next favorite read!...

A Day in the Life of a Librarian: The Perfect Mix of Fun, Academia, and Outreach

Hello, library lovers! Ever wondered what goes on behind the scenes of your favorite academic library? What actually happens during a typical day in the life of a librarian? Well, buckle up—because I’m taking you on a journey through my day, where academia, outreach, and fun collide in the most unexpected ways.Starting the Day: A Quiet Library, Full of PossibilitiesThe day begins with the library bathed in morning light, and it’s still quiet—just me and the books, ready to take on whatever comes our way. It’s the calm before the storm, and I take a deep breath as I check my schedule and e-mails to see what needs to be done. This is the time when I check for any faculty requests, student questions, or even just those little notifications that let me know what’s coming down the pipeline.Library Instruction: Teaching Students How to Be Research RockstarsOne of the most rewarding parts of my day is library instruction. For me, it’s not just about teaching students how to search databases, though we do a lot of that—it’s about showing them how to unlock the full potential of their research.Guiding students through their very first academic research project makes my job very rewarding. I love working with the students and showing them that they know how to research but applying what they already know to academic research gives them that “aha” moment. When teaching I try to relate a database to an online shopping website that they can narrow down their results until they are getting what they are looking for. The same approach can be done with a database. At first, they’re intimidated by the idea of using scholarly articles and JSTOR (what even is JSTOR, right?), but by the end of the session, they walk away feeling empowered. I break things down step-by-step: how to find sources, how to evaluate them, and how to organize all those findings in a way that makes sense.Outreach Event Prep: Behind-the-Scenes of Library FunThen, it’s time to shift gears into outreach mode. At the heart of a library is its students, and I’m always looking for ways to engage beyond just books. I’ve always loved these types of events because they remind me that libraries are about more than just academics. They’re spaces for everyone to discover new things, whether that’s a book, a hobby, or a new community of like-minded individuals.Tech Troubleshooting and Library HeroismOf course, not everything goes according to plan. Just as the event prep is underway, we run into a minor issue with the printer in the study room. Not to worry—I’m on it. I grab my trusty toolkit (not as cool as a superhero’s, but close enough) and set off to solve the problem. Tech troubleshooting is just part of the job, and while it’s not always glamorous, it’s definitely rewarding when you fix something that’s been causing headaches for students. Whether it’s the printer, the Wi-Fi, or a broken study room projector, I take pride in being the unsung hero who keeps everything running smoothly.Engaging with Students: Personalized Research HelpWhile I’m at it, I also get a few students dropping by for some one-on-one research help. Maybe they’re struggling to find sources for their thesis or need advice on how to structure their papers. I walk them through our databases, help them navigate tricky citation issues, or just listen to their academic worries. It’s a mix of guidance and empathy because, let’s face it, research can be stressful.I love these moments—when I can see the relief on a student’s face as they realize they’re not alone in their academic journey. Sometimes, the best thing we can offer isn’t just a book or a database, but our time and support.Planning the Next Big Thing: Keeping the Library DynamicAs the day progresses, it’s time to shift back into programming and outreach planning. I’m deep into brainstorming ideas for our upcoming Library Week, and this year, we’re all about interactive challenges. How about a ‘Guess the Book from the Emoji Clue’ challenge? Or a Literary Escape Room where students solve puzzles based on famous novels? These events are a great way to break the mold of traditional library programming and show students that libraries can be just as fun as they are informative.We’re also talking about collaborating with other departments for cross-disciplinary events. Maybe a session with the science department to demonstrate how to find credible research in biology, or a student poetry slam to highlight the creative talents of our campus community.The Evening Wrap-Up: Reflecting on the Day’s WorkAs the day winds down, I take a final stroll through the library. I love seeing how the space evolves throughout the day—from the early quiet moments to the late-night hustle as students work on projects and papers. The library is a living, breathing entity, and it feels amazing to know that I’ve contributed to making it a vibrant, welcoming place for everyone.Before I leave, I take a minute to reflect on the balance between the academic and the fun sides of being a librarian. I’ve helped students become better researchers, created opportunities for them to engage with literature in new ways, and facilitated a community event that hopefully sparked a little creativity.In ConclusionSo, there you have it! A day in the life of a librarian is a delicate blend of library instruction, outreach, problem-solving, and, of course, making sure the space is a dynamic environment where people of all walks of life can thrive. Whether it’s guiding students through research, hosting a creative event, or simply being there for someone who needs help, being a librarian means wearing many hats. And honestly? I wouldn’t have it any other way.Thanks for following along with me today! I’ll be back soon with more stories from the wonderful world of libraries. Until then, don’t forget to stop by, join us for an event, or simply check out a great book (we’ve got plenty!)....

🖼️🏆 Creative Motion: A Staff-Curated Display Celebrating Art and Athletic Spirit

Located in the glass display case on the 2nd floor at the Joint-Use Library at the VA Beach Campus, our Art Display features a vibrant collection of paintings, prints, mixed media, and sculptural pieces—all thoughtfully selected or contributed by our library team. Each work reflects personal favorites, local artists, and themes that spark imagination and dialogue.Expect to find:Visual art that explores color, emotion, and storytellingHandcrafted items that showcase texture, form, and techniqueBooks and resources related to the featured artists and artistic movementsThis exhibit offers a glimpse into the creative spirit of our library community and invites visitors to pause, reflect, and be inspired.Also located on the 2nd floor, our Sports-Themed Display brings energy, nostalgia, and personal stories to life—all through the lens of our very own staff. This dynamic collection includes sports memorabilia, gear, and keepsakes that reflect the diverse athletic interests and experiences of our team.Both displays will be up for the Fall semester! ...

Brainfuse Offers Free Tutoring on Nights & Weekends!

Blog post authored by Fred V., Tutoring Manager for Chesapeake and Norfolk CampusesNeed help with coursework? In addition to TCC’s on-campus tutoring support, students can access free one-on-one online tutoring through Brainfuse, available in a wide range of subjects. Click the “After-Hours Tutoring” button in your Canvas course navigation to connect with a Brainfuse tutor during the hours listed below.Available hours:Monday–Friday: 7 p.m. – midnightSaturday & Sunday: 9 a.m. – midnightWhether you're stuck on a math problem or polishing a paper, Brainfuse is here to support your success! ...

Supporting Future Nurses: Key Resources from the Academic Library

Leave a comment

TCC Chesapeake

TCC Norfolk

TCC Portsmouth

TCC Virginia Beach