Academics & So Much More! Blog

Hello, knowledge seekers! In today’s digital world, having access to computers can make a huge difference in your academic journey. Your TCC Libraries are not just a treasure trove of books; it’s also equipped with powerful computers designed to support your studies and research. Let’s explore the fantastic benefits of using library computers! 

1. 

   Research Made Easy: With access to a wide range of databases, research guides geared to your courses, online journals, and eBooks, library computers are your gateway to credible sources. Say goodbye to endless Googling and hello to reliable information! 🔍✨

2. Software and Tools: Many library computers are loaded with software or even specialized software needed for your classes.  Whether you’re working on a presentation or a creative project, you’ll find the tools you need right at your fingertips! 🛠️🎨
3. Printing: Need a hard copy of your assignment? Library computers allow you to print documents easily. Just bring your student ID, and you’re all set to get your 100 free prints (per semester)! 📄🖨️
4. Collaborative Projects: Work on group assignments with ease! Many libraries have computers set up in collaborative spaces, so you and your classmates can brainstorm, share ideas, and create together. Whether using computers in the lab or study rooms, we have you covered to get your projects done!🤝💡
5. Access to Online Tutoring: Dive into online tutoring when you need help with your courses.🎓✨

🎉 Make the Most of Your TCC Library Computers!

Next time you need to tackle a research project, finish an assignment, or just explore new ideas, head to your library’s computer lab! It’s a fantastic resource that can enhance your academic experience and set you up for success.  If your computer goes down the library has computers and study rooms with computers to get your work done. 

Happy computing, and see you at you local TCC Library! 📚✨

**Some information in this post was inspired by ChatGPT.**

Looking for your next read? Your TCC Library collections have you covered! Today’s suggestion is from Christy C. at the Norfolk Campus Library.

“I recommend Spooky Lakes: 25 Strange and Mysterious Lakes that Dot Our Planet by Geo Rutherford.  

Geo is the creator of the hit TikTok series Spooky Lake Month where she does a video each day talking about a different lake or hydration feature on our planet and talks about some of the weird and strange facts about them in a family friendly way. 

Backed by extensive research and packed with all sorts of cool content - including some amazing eye-popping paintings done by the author herself- Spooky Lakes takes the reader on an adventure through the weird and wild waters of our planet. Readers not only learn about the science of hydrology, but also why understanding the natural world is crucial to protecting it from pollution and climate change. 

I definitely recommend this book as much as I can. It's fun, beautiful and informative and one of the new books we have!”

Happy Reading!
#christyreads

Snow has a way of sparking cherished memories, from childhood snowball fights to peaceful moments watching snowflakes fall. I still remember waking up to a world covered in snow, the excitement of playing outside, and the warmth of curling up with a good book or watching movies indoors.  Share your favorite snow memory!

TCC Libraries offers digital resources available 24/7 at your fingertips to get through snowy weather without leaving the comfort of your home.  

Please be sure to sign up for TCC Alerts if there are any closures.  

1. Quiet Study Spaces

Need a quiet place to focus? Libraries offer peaceful environments perfect for studying, reading, or working on projects. No distractions, just you and your thoughts! 🧘‍♀️📚

2. Technology and Multimedia Resources

Many libraries provide access to computers, printing, scanning and software needed to complete your assignments. Get hands-on experience with technology you might not have access to at home! 💻✨

3. Free Access to a World of Knowledge

Best of all? Using the library is FREE! With your student id, you can borrow books, access digital resources, get 100 free prints using your student id, and participate in events without spending a dime. It’s like having a VIP pass to a world of knowledge! 🎟️📚

Ready to Explore?

So, what are you waiting for? Grab your student id, head to your local campus library, and start your adventure today! Whether you're looking to ace your studies, discover a new favorite book, or connect with your community, the library is the place to be. Happy exploring! 🌟📖

**Some information in this post was inspired by ChatGPT.**

According to the Old Farmer's Almanac, President's Day is also referred to as Washington's Birthday. Even though George Washington was born on February 22nd, the federal holiday is recognized annually on the third Monday in February. Learn more about the U.S. Presidents through the collections at your TCC Libraries. 

Here are just some suggestions to get you started! Happy Learning!

📚 Featured Materials
Presidents from Hayes through McKinley (2003) eBook
Obama: An Intimate Portrait (2017)  book
The Anthropology of Donald Trump (2022) eBook
The Historical Presidency: George Washington and the First Presidential Cabinet (2018) article
The Outlier: The Unfinished Presidency of Jimmy Carter (2021) book 
And There Was Light: Abraham Lincoln and the American Struggle (2023) book
John Tyler: The Accidental President (2012) eBook

Looking for your next read? Your TCC Library collections have you covered! Today’s suggestion is from Mary H. at the Norfolk Campus Library. Happy Reading!
 

North Woods by Daniel Mason
"This novel mediates and meditates around a single plot of land in western Massachusetts and follows the lives that inhabit it.  It’s a story that captures the uniqueness of each life while also reminding the reader that life is short, and that we are two things at once: interconnected and impermeable." 

#maryreads 

The Midweek Makers event will be held Tuesday, February 25th, 9am-3pm and Wednesday, February 26th, 9am-6pm for students, faculty, and staff for Black History Month. Express yourself with TCC Norfolk Library’s February craft event! 

Join us to make poster collages, quote coasters, and blackout poetry featuring art from Black artists, songwriters, and entrepreneurs. Celebrate how culture brings us together, fostering connections on campus and within our community.

https://tcc.libcal.com/calendar/library 

Hey there, curious minds! Whether you’re a student, a lifelong learner, or just someone who loves a good story, your local TCC Libraries are a treasure trove waiting to be explored. Let’s dive into the wonderful reasons why you should make TCC Libraries your go-to destination for all things knowledge! 🚀

1. Endless Resources at Your Fingertips

From books and eBooks to audiobooks and magazines, libraries offer an incredible array of resources. Need a specific textbook for your class, check to see if your local campus, has it? Or maybe a novel for your book club? Your library has you covered! 📖✨

2. Access to Research Databases 

Want to elevate your academic game? Libraries provide access to specialized research databases filled with peer-reviewed (scholarly) articles, journals, and papers. Say goodbye to unreliable sources and hello to credible information that will boost your research projects! 🔍📚

3. Expert Assistance from Librarians - Ask a Librarian

Your librarians are like the wise sages of the library realm. They can help you navigate resources and even provide resources to help with citations. Don’t hesitate to ask for help—it's what they're here for! 🧙‍♀️📞

**Some information in this post was inspired by ChatGPT.**

Dive into the rich tapestry of Black history this month with Kanopy's exclusive Black History Month Collection! From powerful documentaries to captivating dramas, we're bringing you a curated selection of films that inspire and educate. https://www.kanopy.com/category/40898 

#BlackHistoryMonth

TCC defines plagiarism as “presenting within one’s own work the ideas, representations, or words of another person or artificial intelligence, without customary and proper acknowledgement of that person’s authorship.” Students who are unsure of what constitutes plagiarism should consult with a writing tutor or their instructor. (TCC Student Code of Conduct).  

Think of plagiarism as that crafty goblin who tries to steal your hard-earned gold (aka your ideas)!  Not cool, right? 😱  Visit the TCC Libraries Citing Research Guide for more information!

🔍 Why Avoid Plagiarism?

1. Protect Your Reputation: Nobody wants to be known as the villain of the story. Plagiarism can lead to serious consequences, affecting your grades and academic integrity.
2. Show Off Your Skills: Your unique insights and perspectives are what make your work shine. Embrace your creativity! 🌟
3. Build Trust: Crediting sources builds your credibility and shows you’ve done your homework (literally!).

**Some information in this post was inspired by ChatGPT.**

Each February, we come together to honor the contributions and achievements of Black individuals throughout history. 

Black History Month is a time to reflect on the struggles, triumphs, and profound influence that Black communities have had on shaping our world.

At your TCC Libraries, we celebrate by offering a variety of resources, from books and documentaries to special events and exhibitions. Whether you're interested in learning about influential figures like Harriet Tubman, Langston Hughes, or Maya Angelou, or exploring the rich cultural heritage of African American communities, our collection provides a wealth of knowledge to deepen your understanding and appreciation.

We encourage everyone to take this time to explore, reflect, and learn. Stop by your local campus library and discover new voices and powerful stories.  Check out some of the resources your TCC Libraries has to offer with our African American Research Guide.  

** image from: Library of Congress**