In the spirit of Star Trek, First Contact marks the beginning of exploration and discovery. Just like the Enterprise crew, libraries help you explore new ideas, cultures, and knowledge every day.
What’s our version of First Contact?
Discovery: Dive into new topics and ideas.
Curiosity: Satisfy your thirst for knowledge, from science to space.
Connection: Learn about diverse cultures and perspectives.
Ready for your own First Contact? Visit us and explore books on space, science fiction, and more!
Hello, students and scholars! As you dive into your research projects, it’s crucial to have the right tools at your fingertips. One such tool is Academic Search Complete—a powerful database that can elevate your research game! Let’s explore what it is, how to use it, and why it should be your go-to resource for academic inquiries.
🌟 What is Academic Search Complete?
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive multidisciplinary database that can be used for any subject you are studying and can provide access to scholarly journals, magazines, and other academic resources. This database is designed to be used for any discipline or program of study. You can locate Academic Search Complete on the A to Z Database List.
🔍 Why Use Academic Search Complete?
Extensive Coverage: With millions of articles available, Academic Search Complete covers a wide range of subjects, making it suitable for nearly any research topic you might encounter.
Peer-Reviewed Sources: The database primarily includes peer-reviewed journals, ensuring that the information you’re accessing is credible and reliable—perfect for academic work!
Advanced Search Options: Use advanced search features to refine your results. Filter by publication date, source type, and more to find exactly what you need quickly.
Happy researching, and may you uncover a wealth of knowledge along the way! 📚✨Please be sure to reach out to your local TCC Librarian if you need help whether in-person or online through Ask a Librarian.
**Some information in this post was inspired by ChatGPT.**
Hello, scholars and students! In the vast world of online information, Google Scholar can be an invaluable tool for your research needs. But when is the best time to reach for this academic search engine? Let’s break it down!
Your TCC Libraries offers you many different subject research databases to search through for your academic research. Not all databases are the same and have every article you are searching for, but at times Google Scholar may the article you are searching for with full text. If neither the library databases nor Google Scholar has your article, then you can put in a request in through Interlibrary Loan. Please be aware of your time when requesting materials. TCC Libraries can normally get articles within a 24-hour period.
🌟 Maximize Your Research!
Happy researching, and may your scholarly adventures be fruitful! 📖✨
**Some information in this post was inspired by ChatGPT.**
Study Spaces Galore: TCC Libraries offers a variety of study environments—quiet zones for deep focus, group study rooms for collaboration, and even cozy nooks with comfy seating for reading.
Tech Resources: Beyond books, academic libraries provide access to software needed to complete your classwork.
Research Wizards: Librarians in academic settings are specially trained to help you navigate complex research databases. They can assist with everything from finding peer-reviewed articles to assisting with citation styles!
Interlibrary Loans: If your library doesn’t have a particular book or resource, many academic libraries participate in interlibrary loan programs, meaning you can borrow materials from other institutions! Please be aware of your time when requesting materials. Before submitting the request check to see if the article is available through full-text on Google Scholar.
Diverse Collections: TCC Libraries strive to create inclusive collections that reflect diverse perspectives. You’ll find materials that cover a wide range of cultures, languages, and subjects.
Open 24/7 online: TCC libraries have online resources that are available 24/7 from accessing databases to chatting with a librarian 24/7 through Ask a Librarian.
Digital Resources: TCC Libraries provide access to an extensive array of digital resources, including eBooks, online journals, and multimedia materials, allowing you to study from anywhere!
Subject specific Research Guides: research guides have been created by the librarians with you in mind to aid you in your research. Resources have been picked to aid you in finding the necessary resources you need for your assignment to be successful!
Community Hub: Beyond serving students and faculty, academic libraries often engage with the broader community through public events, outreach programs, and collaborative projects.
🥳 Celebrate Your TCC Library!
Your local campus library no matter which campus you are close to can aid you in your research, and they offer so much more than just books! So next time you visit, take a moment to appreciate all the resources and opportunities available to you. Happy exploring! 📚✨
**Some information in this post was inspired by ChatGPT.**
As you approach the end of the semester or the end of that pesky assignment where citations are important. Let’s be real—citations can be a pain. But guess what? Your TCC Library has got your back! There are tools and resources that are here that will have you citing like a pro. Once must remember that practice will make you better. Here’s how:
Citation Guides Struggling with APA, MLA, or Chicago? Your TCC Library has easy-to-follow guide know as the Citing Research Guide
Workshops & Librarian Help Need personalized citation help? Librarians are your citation superheroes! They offer one-on-one support online and in-person. You can come in-person with or without an appointment or or you can chat with a librarian through Ask a Librarian.
Citation-Ready Databases Research databases like Academic Search Complete, JSTOR and other databases can generate citations for you—but double-check with resources that are in the Citing Research Guide to make sure they’re perfect!
Worried about Plagiarism Avoid accidental plagiarism with the help from resources that your TCC Library has for you!
Conclusion: Citing doesn’t have to be scary! Your TCC Library has all the tools and tips to help you get it right. Visit them today and become a citation expert in no time!
Get ready for an unforgettable day of comics, cosplay, and fun at your TCC Libraries in celebration for National Library Week! We’re hosting our very own Anime & Graphic Novel Event at your Campus Library!
“Drawn to the Library” Event Details:
Tues. April 8th 11:30am-1:30pm Norfolk & Portsmouth
Weds. April 9th 11:30am-1:30pm Chesapeake & Virginia Beach
What’s Happening:
Cosplay Contest – Dress as your favorite character for a chance to win awesome prizes
Spring break is here, and while some might be heading to the beach or traveling, others are discovering the joys of a quieter, cozier getaway—at your TCC Library! The Joint-Use Library on the VB Campus is open and the digital collections are always open!
Yes, you read that right! The library isn’t just for study sessions and research papers; it’s also the perfect spot to unwind. Whether you’re grabbing a new book to escape into a thrilling novel, enjoying a classic movie from our media collection, or simply sipping coffee in a comfy corner, there’s no shortage of ways to enjoy a little spring break bliss without leaving campus.
And for those of you still in study mode, don’t worry—our quiet spaces are ready for your productivity needs, too. So, however you choose to spend it, make sure to stop by and enjoy the library’s spring break vibes. You never know what treasure you’ll find while you're here!
Happy Spring Break, everyone! Whether you’re vacationing or staycationing, your TCC Libraries has you covered.
Hello, library explorers! Have you ever wandered through the aisles of books and wondered how books are shelved? Enter the world of call numbers! These little codes are your roadmap to finding books and resources in the library. Let’s break down what call numbers are and how they can make your library visits more efficient and fun! 🎉
đź“– What Are Call Numbers?
Call numbers are assigned to each book and resource in the library. They help organize materials by subject, making it easy for you to locate what you need. Think of them as the library’s way of arranging its treasures!
🏷️ How Call Numbers Work
Most academic libraries and especially your local TCC Libraries use the Library of Congress Classification system, which categorizes books into broad subjects. Here’s how it breaks down:
Letters: The first part of the call number is a letter or series of letters representing the main subject area (e.g., "B" for Philosophy, "Q" for Science).
Numbers: Following the letters, you'll find a number that further specifies the topic. For example, "B123" might refer to a specific area within philosophy.
Decimal Points: After the initial number, you may see a decimal followed by additional numbers, which provide even more detail. For example, "B123.45" helps pinpoint a more specific focus within the subject.
Author's Last Name: Finally, you may find the author's last name at the end of the call number, which helps differentiate works by different authors within the same subject.
🔍 Finding Books Using Call Numbers
When searching for a book, you’ll typically look it up in the library catalog, which will give you the full call number. Typically think of the call number as your street address, you need the full street address to get to your destination, that is how a call number locates a book on the shelf.Here’s how to use it:
Write Down the Call Number: Make a note of the complete call number and the location of the book.
Head to the books: Navigate to the section of the library indicated by the call number. Books are arranged in numerical and alphabetical order, so look for the starting letter and then the numbers that follow.
Browse: Don’t just grab the book you came for! Take a moment to browse nearby books—they might lead you to unexpected discoveries!
🎉 Fun Tip: The Dewey Decimal System
Some libraries, especially public libraries, may use the Dewey Decimal Classification system. This is another way of organizing books by subject, using three-digit numbers (e.g., 641 for cooking). Understanding how both systems work can enhance your library experience!
🚀 Ready to Navigate the Library Like a Pro?
Now that you know about call numbers, you’ll be equipped to find books and resources with confidence! The next time you visit the library, take a moment to explore all the books you have at your fingertips.
Happy exploring! 📚✨
**Some information in this post was inspired by ChatGPT.**
Looking for your next read? Your TCC Library collections have you covered! Today’s suggestion is from Elle D. at the Norfolk Campus Library. Happy Reading!
“No One Left But Youby Tash McAdam is a young adult murder mystery about a trans boy named Max, who is in love with Danny, his once best friend turned bully. Their brief relationship over the summer left Max starry eyed and heartbroken, but everything changes when Gloss, a rich girl from out of town, decides to take Max under her wing and help him regain his confidence.
A coming of age story with unexpected twists and turns, Max will confront themes of repressed sexuality, a desire for belonging, substance abuse, and more as he comes to terms with the changing lives of those he knew- or thought he knew.”
March is a time to honor the incredible achievements and contributions of women throughout history.
At your TCC Libraries, we celebrate by offering a range of books, films, and resources that highlight the lives and accomplishments of women from all walks of life—scientists, activists, writers, leaders, and more.
We invite you to explore, discover, and be inspired by the stories of women who have paved the way for progress, equality, and empowerment. Check out some of the resources that TCC Libraries offers with the Women's Studies Research Guide.
