Academics & So Much More! Blog

Located in the glass display case on the 2nd floor at the Joint-Use Library at the VA Beach Campus, our Art Display features a vibrant collection of paintings, prints, mixed media, and sculptural pieces—all thoughtfully selected or contributed by our library team. Each work reflects personal favorites, local artists, and themes that spark imagination and dialogue.

Expect to find:

• Visual art that explores color, emotion, and storytelling
• Handcrafted items that showcase texture, form, and technique
• Books and resources related to the featured artists and artistic movements

This exhibit offers a glimpse into the creative spirit of our library community and invites visitors to pause, reflect, and be inspired.

Also located on the 2nd floor, our Sports-Themed Display brings energy, nostalgia, and personal stories to life—all through the lens of our very own staff. This dynamic collection includes sports memorabilia, gear, and keepsakes that reflect the diverse athletic interests and experiences of our team.

Both displays will be up for the Fall semester!

 

Blog post authored by Fred V., Tutoring Manager for Chesapeake and Norfolk Campuses

Need help with coursework? In addition to TCC’s on-campus tutoring support, students can access free one-on-one online tutoring through Brainfuse, available in a wide range of subjects. Click the “After-Hours Tutoring” button in your Canvas course navigation to connect with a Brainfuse tutor during the hours listed below.

Available hours:

• Monday–Friday: 7 p.m. – midnight
• Saturday & Sunday: 9 a.m. – midnight

Whether you're stuck on a math problem or polishing a paper, Brainfuse is here to support your success!

(Post author, Michelle B. Librarian, Chesapeake Campus)

April is National Gardening Month!  The horticulture program at the Chesapeake campus is a true gem—rooted in hands-on learning, scientific expertise, and a passion for cultivating growth. Students gain practical skills in plant science, sustainable gardening, and landscape design, all while contributing to greener, healthier communities. It’s a program that nurtures both knowledge and creativity, preparing graduates to thrive in an ever-growing field.

Want to learn more about horticulture, check out TCC Libraries Horticulture Research Guide!

Recommended Resources

1. The fundamentals of horticulture : theory and practice
2. Steward of the land : selected writings of nineteenth-century horticulturist Thomas Affleck

*photo taken by Whitney Waldo - TCC Horticulture Department

Looking for scholarly articles that actually help with your paper? Start with Academic Search Complete—a top-tier database covering everything from science and history to pop culture and psychology.

Why it’s awesome:

• Thousands of peer-reviewed journals and full-text articles
• Covers nearly every academic subject
• Easy citation tools built right in - still check with the library resources available to ensure your citation is correct by using the Citing Research Guide!

Bonus Tip:
When you search through EBSCOhost, you can select multiple databases at once—like ERIC, Business Source, and more—for a supercharged search experience. Just click on “Searching: Academic Search Complete” before you start once you are in Academic Search Complete!

Another Bonus Tip:

The TCC Libraries offers workshops to assist with citations and research.  Keep an eye out for upcoming workshops!

Can’t find the full article?

• Try searching the title in Google Scholar—sometimes it’s freely available there.
• Still no luck? Submit an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request and we’ll track it down for you—often at no cost!

Your library has the tools. You have the curiosity. Let’s make research magic happen! ✨📚

Every year, libraries, schools, and readers across the country come together to celebrate Banned Books Week—a time to honor our freedom to read, reflect on the importance of intellectual freedom, and spotlight books that have faced censorship.  Stop by your campus library for events happening during the week of October 6 to 10, 2025.  

This year’s theme, Freedom to Read Week.  Whether it's a novel that challenges societal norms, a memoir that shares a marginalized perspective, or a children's book that sparks curiosity, every story deserves the chance to be heard.

🔍 Why Do Books Get Banned?

Books are often challenged or banned for content related to race, gender identity, sexuality, religion, or political viewpoints. But behind every challenge is a conversation about values, identity, and the power of literature to provoke thought and inspire change.

📖 What Can You Do?
Explore Our Display: Visit our Banned Books Week exhibit to discover titles that have been challenged—and why they matter.
Protect the Right to Read: Support organizations that advocate for intellectual freedom, like the American Library Association’s Office for Intellectual Freedom.

🌟 Featured Titles
Here are just a few of the powerful books that have faced challenges over the years:
•    The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie
•    Gender Queer by Maia Kobabe
•    To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
•    The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas
•    1984 by George Orwell

These books—and many others—offer windows into different lives, mirrors for self-reflection, and doors to new ideas.

In partnership with the Virginia Beach Public Library, please visit the Joint-Use Library on the VB Campus of TCC to admire over 90 pieces from the Tidewater Quilters' Guild. Exhibit will be in place until December 17, 2025.

Founded in 1979, the Tidewater Quilters' Guild provides educational programs and workshops in various techniques relative to the needs of those interested in the art of quilt making and similar arts; to educate the public about this fine art; to preserve the tradition, culture, and history of quilts.