As the spring semester wraps up and caps are tossed into the air, we find ourselves reflecting on the incredible journey of our graduating students. We hope that TCC Libraries & Tutoring have played a special role in providing resources, support and a place to think and grow.
To all the graduates, we offer our heartfelt congratulations! We hope the knowledge and memories you’ve gained here will continue to inspire you as you step into the next chapter of your story.
As we welcome warmer days and more time outside, it’s the perfect moment to talk about skin cancer awareness. Did you know that skin cancer is the most common type of cancer in the United States? The good news is—it’s also one of the most preventable.
This May, TCC Libraries are joining the conversation to help raise awareness and share tips for protecting your skin all year round. Whether you're gardening, heading to the beach, or just walking the dog, remember these simple steps:
🧴 Wear broad-spectrum sunscreen (SPF 30 or higher)
👒 Use hats, sunglasses, and protective clothing
🌤 Seek shade, especially between 10 a.m. and 4 p.m.
👩⚕️ Schedule regular skin checks with your doctor
Looking to learn more? We’ve curated a selection of books and resources on skin health, cancer prevention, and sun safety—available now at your local campus and through our digital library.
Let’s shine a light on prevention and keep our community healthy!
For more resources, check out TCC Libraries Health Portal.
**some information provided by ChatGPT.**
As the semester winds down, it’s time to return those library books and other items! Be sure to stay up-to-date on TCC Libraries hours. Here’s a quick checklist:
Check Due Dates
Make sure your items are returned on time to avoid late fees. Need more time? Renew online!
Return in Good Condition
Treat library materials gently. If something’s damaged, let the library staff know.
Clear Your Account
Check for any overdue items or fees on your library account before leaving campus.
Explore Summer Resources
Even after the semester ends, your library has e-books, audiobooks, and more for summer reading!
Conclusion:
Returning your materials before the end of the semester keeps things stress-free and your library account in good standing. Happy studying—and enjoy your break!
April is National Garden Month!
Spring has sprung, and it’s the perfect time to get your hands a little dirty—literally! Whether you’ve got a sprawling backyard or a sunny windowsill, gardening is a fun and relaxing way to connect with nature. And guess what? Your local library is here to help you grow more than just plants.
Check out our shelves (and digital collection!) for gardening guides, DIY compost tips, seed-saving hacks, and even books on how to attract butterflies and bees to your yard. We’ve got something for every kind of green thumb—from total beginners to seasoned soil pros. TCC Libraries has you covered for your green thumb, by checking out our Horticulture Research Guide.
So stop by, borrow a book, grab some inspiration, and let your garden dreams take root. 🌻
Happy planting!
📚💚
**Some information generated with chatgpt*
Why Choose Library Computers?
🎉 Make the Most of Your TCC Library Computers!
Next time you need to tackle a research project (TCC Libraries Research Step by Step), finish an assignment, or just explore new ideas, head to your library’s computer lab!
Happy computing, and see you at your TCC Library! 📚✨
**Some information in this post was inspired by ChatGPT.**
Plagiarism is like borrowing someone’s favorite sweater without asking and then trying to pass it off as your own. In the academic world, it means using someone else's words, ideas, or creative expressions without giving them credit.
⚔️ How to Fight the Plagiarism Monster:
🎓 Need Help?
Librarians and writing tutors are available to help you navigate the citation labyrinth. Don’t hesitate to reach out through Ask a Librarian.
🌟 Join the Fight!
Make academic integrity your superpower!
**Some information in this post was inspired by ChatGPT.**
It's that time of year again! National Library Week is here, and it's time to shout out to our favorite book havens—the libraries! From April 6 to 12, 2025, libraries across the country will be celebrating all things reading, learning, and community. Whether you're a regular library-goer or you haven't checked out a book since your school days, now is the perfect time to reconnect with your local library and explore all it has to offer.
Libraries are so much more than just quiet places to read (although, let’s be real, there’s something magical about a quiet corner with a good book). They’re vibrant community centers filled with activities, resources, and, of course, an endless supply of stories waiting to be discovered.
Celebrate your local TCC Library and the people who make it all happen. After all, libraries aren’t just about books—they’re about opening doors to new adventures and ideas. And who doesn’t want a little more of that in their life?
Happy National Library Week! Let’s read, learn, and share the love for libraries everywhere! 📖❤️
More tips that can aid you in your quest with Academic Search Complete (A to Z Database List):
Happy researching, and may you uncover a wealth of knowledge along the way! 📚✨Please be sure to reach out to your local TCC Librarian if you need help whether in-person or online through Ask a Librarian.
**Some information in this post was inspired by ChatGPT.**
In the spirit of Star Trek, First Contact marks the beginning of exploration and discovery. Just like the Enterprise crew, libraries help you explore new ideas, cultures, and knowledge every day.
What’s our version of First Contact?
Ready for your own First Contact? Visit us and explore books on space, science fiction, and more!
📚 Featured Resources:
Come boldly to your TCC Library — your next adventure starts here! 🚀
#FirstContact #StarTrek #LibraryExploration #Curiosity #LibraryLove
Hello, students and scholars! As you dive into your research projects, it’s crucial to have the right tools at your fingertips. One such tool is Academic Search Complete—a powerful database that can elevate your research game! Let’s explore what it is, how to use it, and why it should be your go-to resource for academic inquiries.
🌟 What is Academic Search Complete?
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive multidisciplinary database that can be used for any subject you are studying and can provide access to scholarly journals, magazines, and other academic resources. This database is designed to be used for any discipline or program of study. You can locate Academic Search Complete on the A to Z Database List.
🔍 Why Use Academic Search Complete?
Happy researching, and may you uncover a wealth of knowledge along the way! 📚✨Please be sure to reach out to your local TCC Librarian if you need help whether in-person or online through Ask a Librarian.
**Some information in this post was inspired by ChatGPT.**
Hello, scholars and students! In the vast world of online information, Google Scholar can be an invaluable tool for your research needs. But when is the best time to reach for this academic search engine? Let’s break it down!
Your TCC Libraries offers you many different subject research databases to search through for your academic research. Not all databases are the same and have every article you are searching for, but at times Google Scholar may the article you are searching for with full text. If neither the library databases nor Google Scholar has your article, then you can put in a request in through Interlibrary Loan. Please be aware of your time when requesting materials. TCC Libraries can normally get articles within a 24-hour period.
🌟 Maximize Your Research!
Happy researching, and may your scholarly adventures be fruitful! 📖✨
**Some information in this post was inspired by ChatGPT.**
As you approach the end of the semester or the end of that pesky assignment where citations are important. Let’s be real—citations can be a pain. But guess what? Your TCC Library has got your back! There are tools and resources that are here that will have you citing like a pro. Once must remember that practice will make you better. Here’s how:
Citation Guides
Struggling with APA, MLA, or Chicago? Your TCC Library has easy-to-follow guide know as the Citing Research Guide
Workshops & Librarian Help
Need personalized citation help? Librarians are your citation superheroes! They offer one-on-one support online and in-person. You can come in-person with or without an appointment or or you can chat with a librarian through Ask a Librarian.
Citation-Ready Databases
Research databases like Academic Search Complete, JSTOR and other databases can generate citations for you—but double-check with resources that are in the Citing Research Guide to make sure they’re perfect!
Worried about Plagiarism
Avoid accidental plagiarism with the help from resources that your TCC Library has for you!
Conclusion:
Citing doesn’t have to be scary! Your TCC Library has all the tools and tips to help you get it right. Visit them today and become a citation expert in no time!
🥳 Celebrate Your TCC Library!
Your local campus library no matter which campus you are close to can aid you in your research, and they offer so much more than just books! So next time you visit, take a moment to appreciate all the resources and opportunities available to you. Happy exploring! 📚✨
**Some information in this post was inspired by ChatGPT.**
March is a time to honor the incredible achievements and contributions of women throughout history.
At your TCC Libraries, we celebrate by offering a range of books, films, and resources that highlight the lives and accomplishments of women from all walks of life—scientists, activists, writers, leaders, and more.
We invite you to explore, discover, and be inspired by the stories of women who have paved the way for progress, equality, and empowerment. Check out some of the resources that TCC Libraries offers with the Women's Studies Research Guide.
Hello, knowledge seekers! In today’s digital world, having access to computers can make a huge difference in your academic journey. Your TCC Libraries are not just a treasure trove of books; it’s also equipped with powerful computers designed to support your studies and research. Let’s explore the fantastic benefits of using library computers!
Research Made Easy: With access to a wide range of databases, research guides geared to your courses, online journals, and eBooks, library computers are your gateway to credible sources. Say goodbye to endless Googling and hello to reliable information! 🔍✨
🎉 Make the Most of Your TCC Library Computers!
Next time you need to tackle a research project, finish an assignment, or just explore new ideas, head to your library’s computer lab! It’s a fantastic resource that can enhance your academic experience and set you up for success. If your computer goes down the library has computers and study rooms with computers to get your work done.
Happy computing, and see you at you local TCC Library! 📚✨
**Some information in this post was inspired by ChatGPT.**
Snow has a way of sparking cherished memories, from childhood snowball fights to peaceful moments watching snowflakes fall. I still remember waking up to a world covered in snow, the excitement of playing outside, and the warmth of curling up with a good book or watching movies indoors. Share your favorite snow memory!
TCC Libraries offers digital resources available 24/7 at your fingertips to get through snowy weather without leaving the comfort of your home.
Please be sure to sign up for TCC Alerts if there are any closures.
1. Quiet Study Spaces
Need a quiet place to focus? Libraries offer peaceful environments perfect for studying, reading, or working on projects. No distractions, just you and your thoughts! 🧘♀️📚
2. Technology and Multimedia Resources
Many libraries provide access to computers, printing, scanning and software needed to complete your assignments. Get hands-on experience with technology you might not have access to at home! 💻✨
3. Free Access to a World of Knowledge
Best of all? Using the library is FREE! With your student id, you can borrow books, access digital resources, get 100 free prints using your student id, and participate in events without spending a dime. It’s like having a VIP pass to a world of knowledge! 🎟️📚
Ready to Explore?
So, what are you waiting for? Grab your student id, head to your local campus library, and start your adventure today! Whether you're looking to ace your studies, discover a new favorite book, or connect with your community, the library is the place to be. Happy exploring! 🌟📖
**Some information in this post was inspired by ChatGPT.**
Hey there, curious minds! Whether you’re a student, a lifelong learner, or just someone who loves a good story, your local TCC Libraries are a treasure trove waiting to be explored. Let’s dive into the wonderful reasons why you should make TCC Libraries your go-to destination for all things knowledge! 🚀
1. Endless Resources at Your Fingertips
From books and eBooks to audiobooks and magazines, libraries offer an incredible array of resources. Need a specific textbook for your class, check to see if your local campus, has it? Or maybe a novel for your book club? Your library has you covered! 📖✨
2. Access to Research Databases
Want to elevate your academic game? Libraries provide access to specialized research databases filled with peer-reviewed (scholarly) articles, journals, and papers. Say goodbye to unreliable sources and hello to credible information that will boost your research projects! 🔍📚
3. Expert Assistance from Librarians - Ask a Librarian
Your librarians are like the wise sages of the library realm. They can help you navigate resources and even provide resources to help with citations. Don’t hesitate to ask for help—it's what they're here for! 🧙♀️📞
**Some information in this post was inspired by ChatGPT.**
TCC defines plagiarism as “presenting within one’s own work the ideas, representations, or words of another person or artificial intelligence, without customary and proper acknowledgement of that person’s authorship.” Students who are unsure of what constitutes plagiarism should consult with a writing tutor or their instructor. (TCC Student Code of Conduct).
Think of plagiarism as that crafty goblin who tries to steal your hard-earned gold (aka your ideas)! Not cool, right? 😱 Visit the TCC Libraries Citing Research Guide for more information!
🔍 Why Avoid Plagiarism?
**Some information in this post was inspired by ChatGPT.**
Each February, we come together to honor the contributions and achievements of Black individuals throughout history.
Black History Month is a time to reflect on the struggles, triumphs, and profound influence that Black communities have had on shaping our world.
At your TCC Libraries, we celebrate by offering a variety of resources, from books and documentaries to special events and exhibitions. Whether you're interested in learning about influential figures like Harriet Tubman, Langston Hughes, or Maya Angelou, or exploring the rich cultural heritage of African American communities, our collection provides a wealth of knowledge to deepen your understanding and appreciation.
We encourage everyone to take this time to explore, reflect, and learn. Stop by your local campus library and discover new voices and powerful stories. Check out some of the resources your TCC Libraries has to offer with our African American Research Guide.
** image from: Library of Congress**
🚫🔍 Why Google Isn’t Your Best Friend for Academic Research! 📚✨
Hey there, knowledge adventurers! 🧙♀️ Are you ready to level up your research game? While Google is great for cat videos and recipe hunting, it might not be your trusty sidekick for academic research. Let’s explore why it’s time to step away from the search bar and into the library! 🌟
🌐 The Google Mirage
Google can feel like a vast desert of information, but beware! Many of the “facts” you find may not be reliable. It’s like a treasure hunt where you might end up with fool’s gold! 🏴☠️ You need scholarly sources, not random blog posts or Wikipedia entries. Ask yourself who can add and make changes on Google & Wikipedia?
🧙♂️ Enter the Library: Your Research Wizard!
Your library is a magical realm filled with vetted, peer-reviewed resources! Here’s why it’s your best bet for serious research:
🏰 Bonus: Help is Always Nearby!
Your librarians are likewise wizards ready to assist you whether in-person or online, you can reach out to a TCC Librarian through Ask a Librarian! Whether you need help with citations, finding specific sources, or navigating databases, they’ve got your back. Don’t hesitate to ask for help! 🧙♂️📞
**Some information in this post was inspired by ChatGPT.**
As you embark on your academic journey at TCC, know the library team is ready to help you thrive-- whether you attend classes in-person or virtually. 🤝🎓
👩🏫 Who Are the Library Staff?
🎉 Get to Know Your Library Staff as well as Our Services and Resources!
Next time you visit the library, take a moment to introduce yourself to the staff. Ask questions, seek assistance, or just chat about your interests.
**Some information in this post was inspired by ChatGPT.**
As a new semester begins, let's explore ways to be successful on your quest for research and knowledge:
So, next time you think about Googling for your research, remember the library is your true ally in the quest for knowledge! Happy researching and good luck with your quest--should you choose to accept it :) ! 📚✨
**Some information in this post was inspired by ChatGPT.**
Each year, we celebrate the life and impact of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., a leader whose vision for racial justice reshaped the United States. Born on January 15, 1929, in Atlanta, Georgia, Dr. King became the face of the Civil Rights Movement, leading nonviolent protests and advocating for social change.
His most iconic moment came during the March on Washington in 1963, where he delivered his famous "I Have a Dream" speech, calling for a future where all people are judged by their character, not the color of their skin. Dr. King’s work helped lead to the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and the Voting Rights Act of 1965, significant milestones in the fight for equality.
Libraries play a crucial role in preserving and sharing Dr. King’s legacy, offering resources such as books, documentaries, and educational programs that continue to inspire new generations. His commitment to justice and nonviolence reminds us that the fight for equality is ongoing.
This Martin Luther King Jr. Day, take time to reflect on his vision for a just world and explore the many resources available at the library.
TCC Libraries has you covered for resources on Martin Luther King Jr. Check out Kanopy and other databases the library has to offer!
Hello, foodies and festive planners! With the holiday season just around the corner, it’s the perfect time to explore the culinary treasures your local library has to offer. Whether you’re hosting a grand feast or looking to perfect your holiday recipes, your library is brimming with resources to make your celebrations deliciously memorable. Let’s dig in!
This holiday season, let your local TCC Library be your culinary co-pilot. With its rich resources, from cookbooks to videos, you’ll be well-equipped to create a festive feast that will delight family and friends. So, grab your apron, gather those recipes, and get ready to make this holiday season truly special. Be sure to check out some of TCC Libraries’ resources using our Culinary Research Guide. Happy cooking, and may your table be filled with love and laughter! 🍂🎉
**Some information in this post was inspired by ChatGPT.**
As finals week approaches, the pressure can feel overwhelming—but don’t worry, the TCC Libraries are here to help you power through! Whether you’re cramming for exams or putting the finishing touches on your final papers, we’ve got resources and spaces designed to support your success.
Study Spaces: Need a quiet place to focus? We’ve got plenty of study rooms and quiet corners. First-come, first-served, so come early to snag your spot!
Research & Tutoring Help: Stuck on a research paper or need help with citations? Our librarians are ready to assist you in person or online. Librarians are available 24/7 through Ask a Librarian.
Needing last minute help with your classes?
Tutoring Appointments: are available with TCC Tutoring which offers both in-person and online appointments to help you with English, math and subject-specific assignments. Also available is After-hours tutoring provided online through Brainfuse. Don’t hesitate to reach out!
You’ve got this—let your campus library be your study partner during finals week. Come by, get the support you need, and finish strong! 📚✨
Discover new research possibilities
TCC Libraries are excited to share that our institution now has early access to JSTOR's new interactive research tool. Developed in collaboration with the scholarly community, this innovative tool uses advanced technologies, including AI, to empower people to deepen and expand their research with JSTOR’s trusted corpus.
Avoid spending hours reading the wrong sources with JSTOR’s interactive research tool. 🚫 Use the tool to screen academic resources based on topics, keywords, and themes to get connected to the RIGHT content faster. Whether conducting a deep dive or just gathering preliminary materials, you’ll have more time to focus on what matters. ☄️ Learn more here: https://about.jstor.org/research-tool/, or login to your JSTOR account and start using the tool today!
What are you thankful for? We are thankful for our students, staff, faculty, and community patrons.
Take a break from studying by checking out some of our streaming databases or popular DVDs. Be sure to laugh and relax! Some of our video streaming databases are: Films On Demand, Kanopy, and Swank Digital Campus. We also have some popular movies at all of our campus libraries, from Star Wars to Love Actually be sure to check out our library catalog for a great movie night!
TCC Libraries & Tutoring wish everyone a happy and safe holiday!
Your TCC Libraries offers you many different subject research databases to search through for your academic research. Not all databases are the same and have every article you are searching for, but at times Google Scholar may the article you are searching for with full text. If neither the library databases nor Google Scholar has your article, then you can put in a request in through Interlibrary Loan. Please be aware of your time when requesting materials. TCC Libraries can normally get articles within a 24-hour period.
🌟 Maximize Your Research!
Happy researching, and may your scholarly adventures be fruitful! 📖✨
**Some information in this post was inspired by ChatGPT.**
Hello, knowledge seekers! In today’s digital world, having access to computers can make a huge difference in your academic journey. Your TCC Libraries are not just a treasure trove of books; it’s also equipped with powerful computers designed to support your studies and research. Let’s explore the fantastic benefits of using library computers!
🎉 Make the Most of Your TCC Library Computers!
Next time you need to tackle a research project, finish an assignment, or just explore new ideas, head to your library’s computer lab! It’s a fantastic resource that can enhance your academic experience and set you up for success. If your computer goes down the library has computers and study rooms with computers to get your work done.
Happy computing, and see you at you local TCC Library! 📚✨
**Some information in this post was inspired by ChatGPT.**
🌟 What is Academic Search Complete?
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive multidisciplinary database that can be used for any subject you are studying and can provide access to scholarly journals, magazines, and other academic resources. This database is designed to be used for any discipline or program of study. You can locate Academic Search Complete on the A to Z Database List.
🔍 Why Use Academic Search Complete?
Happy researching, and may you uncover a wealth of knowledge along the way! 📚✨Please be sure to reach out to your local TCC Librarian if you need help whether in-person or online through Ask a Librarian.
**Some information in this post was inspired by ChatGPT.**
Enabling exploration of the political, social, and cultural history of native peoples from the sixteenth century well into the twentieth century, Indigenous Peoples of North America illustrates the fabric of the North American story with unprecedented depth and breadth. Comprehensive yet personal, the collection covers the history of American Indian tribes and supporting organizations.
Explore the Gale Primary Sources collection today!
November is here, and that means it’s time to honor Native American Heritage Month! This month is dedicated to recognizing the rich history, culture, and contributions of Native American peoples throughout the United States.
📚 Explore Our Resources
Your library has a wealth of resources to help you learn more about Native American history and culture. Check out books, documentaries, and digital archives that highlight the diverse traditions and stories of Indigenous communities. TCC Libraries has many resources available at your fingertips by exploring our Indigenous People Studies Research Guide!
🤝 Get Involved
This November, take time to reflect on the significance of Native American Heritage Month. Consider how you can support Indigenous communities and amplify their stories.
Let’s celebrate the vibrant heritage and contributions of Native Americans together! 🌿✨
**Some information in this post was inspired by ChatGPT.**
During the month of November, Kanopy is celebrating Native American tribes and traditions through film. This thoughtfully curated film selection highlights the diverse cultures, histories, and stories of indigenous communities.
From poignant documentaries to vibrant narratives, each piece offers a closer look into the traditions, challenges, and achievements of Native American peoples. Experience these compelling stories and gain a greater appreciation for their enduring heritage with the Native American Heritage Month collection.
Start exploring today at kanopy.com/category/67095
Can you complete this Halloween bingo sheet! TCC Libraries have you covered for books and movies in our Film Research Guide! Curl up with a great book or movie! Check out our spooky reads/watch list too!
Hey there, savvy scholars! Midterms or mid-semester is just around the corner, and while that might send a shiver down your spine, fear not! TCC Libraries are here to help you navigate this tricky time with some fun, stress-busting strategies. Let’s make studying a little less daunting and a lot more enjoyable!
As you study, celebrate your achievements, big or small! Finished a chapter? Treat yourself! Completed a practice test? High-five your study buddy! These little celebrations can help keep your spirits high and motivation strong.
Midterms may be challenging, but with a little creativity and fun, you can tackle them like a pro! Remember, the library is your ally, full of resources and a supportive community ready to cheer you on. So, gear up, enjoy the process, and make some great memories along the way.
1. Create Your Ultimate Study Playlist
Who says studying has to be boring? Curate an upbeat playlist to keep your energy levels high while you hit the books. Whether you prefer lo-fi beats, classic rock, or catchy pop tunes, a good soundtrack can make all the difference. Let’s jam to some great music and bonus points for dancing it out during breaks!
2. Turn Studying into a Game
Make studying a bit more exciting by turning it into a game! Use flashcards for quick quizzes, set timers for mini study sprints, or challenge a friend to see who can recall the most facts in a minute. Reward yourselves with snacks or fun breaks for every milestone you reach!
3. Find Your Perfect Study Spot
The library is full of unique spaces, so why not explore? From cozy reading nooks to lively group study areas, finding the right environment can help you focus. Bring a comfy blanket or your favorite mug for some extra comfort. Don’t forget to take some fun selfies in your favorite spots!
4. Snack Smart, Snack Happy
Fuel your brain with healthy snacks that also bring a smile! Think trail mix, fruit, or even some popcorn for a light crunch. Treat yourself to a little indulgence—maybe a cookie or two—because studying hard deserves some delicious rewards!
5. Take Mini Breaks with a Twist
Instead of just scrolling through your phone during breaks, try something refreshing! Do a quick stretch, take a stroll around the library, or grab a friend for a short dance party in the study area. Movement boosts your mood and keeps your energy up!
6. Mindfulness Moments
When the stress feels overwhelming, take a moment to breathe. Find a quiet corner in the library, close your eyes, and focus on your breathing for a few minutes. You could also try a short guided meditation available through library resources or apps. It’s a great way to reset and recharge!
7. Celebrate Your Progress
As you study, celebrate your achievements, big or small! Finished a chapter? Treat yourself! Completed a practice test? High-five your study buddy! These little celebrations can help keep your spirits high and motivation strong.
Midterms may be challenging, but with a little creativity and fun, you can tackle them like a pro! Remember, the library is your ally, full of resources and a supportive community ready to cheer you on. So, gear up, enjoy the process, and make some great memories along the way.
Wishing you all a successful and stress-free midterm season! You've got this! 🎉📚✨
**Some information in this post was inspired by ChatGPT.**
1. Having trouble coming up with a research topic? All-in-one databases like Opposing Viewpoints in Context are excellent for exploring ideas!
2. You can search multiple databases at one time when using Academic Search Complete.
3. Reach out to a librarian if you are not sure about the resources you have access to. You have access to a librarian 24/7 through Ask a Librarian!
4. Don't get discouraged if you do not get any results at first, you may need to change your subject or keywords for your research.
5. Research something you are interested in, so you'll be inspired to do your best work!
On Saturday, October 12th from 9am-1pm, TCC's Office of Educational Accessibility hosted a targeted college visit for students with disabilities and their parents. The event took place at the Virginia Beach Student Center and provided opportunities for students to learn more about college-readiness.
Beth Callahan, College-wide Coordinator for the Office of Accessibility, facilitated a Q & A panel with the students. This panel included Dr. Thomas Geary (English), Kimberly Lee (Psychology), Michael VanderWerf (Skilled Trades Academy) and Heather Fitzgerald (Library Coordinator).
In partnership with SCHEV and the Department of Aging & Rehabilitation.
Today, a reception was hosted at the Joint-Use Library (JUL) to celebrate four regional artists who donated their artwork to the library. Stop by the Joint-Use Library today to discover these works and more!
Special thanks to Virginia Beach Public Library staff members Donna Simpkins and Sean O'Connell for coordinating this reception in collaboration with Tidewater Community College.
(Blog post co-authored by Ruthie D., TCC Libraries, Portsmouth)
October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month. Here are a few examples of what TCC Libraries have available.
Need more help? We look forward to hearing from you!
Unleash your inner spirits with Kanopy’s Fright Fest! From horror classics to thrilling adventures, Fright Fest celebrates horror and fascination during this spooky season. Get your flashlight ready and start streaming now at www.kanopy.com/category/60744. #FrightFestonKanopy
Hey there! The TCC Librarians are here to share tips for avoiding plagiarism. First, it is critical to define a few terms:
Paraphrasing: expressing what is written/spoken using different words than the original author used, but conveying the same meaning (Collins Dictionary)
Now, as promised, those two tips for avoiding plagiarism:
Still have questions? Stop by a library or meet with a writing tutor!
(Blog Post Authored by Dominique M., Chesapeake Campus Library)
Looking for your next read? Try these graphic novels--available at TCC Libraries!
This is a classic for those that want to see the origin story of Batman’s greatest nemesis. How one bad day can change the whole trajectory of your life. Take a look behind the curtain of insanity to see how The Joker became the criminal we know him as.
Harleen
Ever been curious about Harley Quinn’s origin story? Of course there are many places to start, so why not start with Harleen? A deeply heartbreaking and eye-opening story about how far some would go for love, with fan favorite Harley Quinn at the center.
TCC Libraries & Tutoring are thrilled to announce our new digital subscription to the New York Times.
All faculty, staff and students now have access. We encourage you to take advantage of this resource and create a personal account where all articles, instructional tools, and multimedia are available to you! https://libguides.tcc.edu/topic/NYT
Hey students! 📚✍️ Ever felt like citing sources is a maze of confusing rules and endless formats? Fear not! We’re here to demystify the process and make it as smooth as possible. Whether you’re crafting a research paper, writing an essay, or working on a project, proper citation is key to academic integrity. Let’s dive into the essentials of citing sources like a pro! TCC Libraries offers resources that can aid you in citing sources whether you are using MLA or APA.
Some More Tips that Can Help:
With these tips, you’re well on your way to mastering the art of citing sources and upholding academic integrity. Happy writing, and may your citations be accurate and your sources reliable! 🌟📚✏️
The political atmosphere in the US is buzzing with questions and concerns. As we gear up for this critical election, Kanopy is your go-to source for films that dive deep into the history of elections, the voting process, and much more. Equip yourself with an educated political background and make an informed decision this November. https://www.kanopy.com/en/tidewater/category/29291
Hey students! 📚✨ So, you’ve got a mountain of sources for your next assignment or research project, but how do you know which ones are worth their weight in gold? Fear not! We’re here to help you sift through the sea of information and find the treasure trove of reliable and relevant sources. Here’s your step-by-step guide to evaluating sources like a pro. TCC Libraries offers tools and ways on helping you to evaluate your sources.
https://libguides.tcc.edu/stepbystep/evaluate
Image: Christy C., TCC Libraries, 2023
(Blog post authored by Christy C., TCC Libraries, Norfolk)
Hey besties, let’s talk for a minute about banned and challenged books.
So, banned and challenged books are a big deal in the literary world.
So, why should we even care? Well, it’s all about freedom of speech and expression.
These books can tackle some heavy topics like LGBTQ+ issues, racism, religion and even sexual content. They often give a voice to marginalized communities and help us understand their experiences. Literature helps us think about all viewpoints and experiences.
But here’s the kicker: banning or challenging these books doesn’t make those issues disappear! Let's have conversations and celebrate the freedom to read!
So, next time you spot a banned or challenged book, grab it, devour it, and share it with your friends. Keep the pages turning during Banned Books Week and beyond!
Tag us on social media and tell us what your favorite banned books are! Also, comment on this blog post!
