Regular inventories of the collection will be undertaken to ensure that all materials are shelved in the correct location, and to identify materials that may be missing from the library.
Regular maintenance of records and holdings in the library’s integrated library system are done to ensure searchability and access to the collection.
The Library should adhere to basic conservation measures, such as temperature, humidity, and dust control.
Items that are worn or damaged will be evaluated by librarians to determine if they should be repaired, replaced, or withdrawn.
Decisions will be based on:
Materials recommended for discard are reviewed by the librarians. Faculty may be consulted for input on decisions within their curricular area. Weeding should be done continuously and the collection evaluated to determine the relevancy of older materials in the collection. Final decision for removal and disposal is the responsibility of the Library Coordinators. Materials withdrawn from the collection will be disposed of according to VCCS policy section 4.4.1. “Disposal of Surplus Library Books and Periodicals.”
General criteria for weeding:
Professional integrity and responsibility to the academic community permit the freedom to select from a wide spectrum of significant materials. We adhere to the American Library Association’s Library Bill of Rights which states, “Materials should not be excluded because of the origin, age, background, or views of those contributing to their creation. Materials should not be proscribed or removed because of their partisan or doctrinal disapproval.” Occasionally, objections to some materials will be voiced regardless of the care taken in the selection process and the qualifications of the persons selecting the materials. TCC students, faculty, or staff may formally challenge any library material by submitting a written request to the respective campus Library Coordinator, who will respond by providing an explanation and a copy of the TCC Library Collection Development Policy. Further clarification of the TCC Library Collection Development Policy is available from the Associate Vice President for Libraries.
Collection evaluation examines the collection in a systematic fashion to ensure it meets the library’s goals and objectives. The Library’s collections will be evaluated using multiple methods including: