Oppenheimer and the Atomic Bomb

J. Robert Oppenheimer

Los Alamos National Laboratory (CC BY-NC-ND 2.0)

Atomic Bomb Preparations at Tinian Island

War Department. Office of the Chief of Engineers. Manhattan Engineer District. 8/16/1942-8/15/1947. National Archives Catalog. NAID: 76048558

Enola Gay

Colonel Paul W. Tibbets, Pilot Of B-29 Superfortress, 'Enola Gay', Standing By His Plane Which Bombed Hiroshima, Japan. Marianas Islands. (U.S. Air Force Number 59468AC)

War Department. Office of the Chief of Staff. General Headquarters Air Force. (11/19/1940 - 6/20/1941). National Archives Catalog.  NAID: 204972631

Photograph of Dr. N. Ramsey Signing his Name to Fat Man Unit Prior to Polar Cap Being Placed on

Original Caption: Dr. N. Ramsey Signing His Name To Fm Unit Prior To Polar Cap Being Placed On. Em Spraying Paint On Unit.

National Archives Catalog.  NAID: 76048746

Photograph of "Fat Man" Nuclear Weapon

Original Caption: "Nuclear weapon of the "Fat Man" type, the kind detonated over Nagasaki, Japan, in World War II. The bomb is 60 inches in diameter and 128 inches long. The second nuclear weapon to be detonated, it weighed about 10,000 pounds and had a yield equivalent to approximately 20,000 tons of high explosive."
Los Alamos Scientific Laboratory. War Department. Office of the Chief of Engineers. Manhattan Engineer District. 8/16/1942-8/15/1947. National Archives Catalog NAID 175539928

Photograph of Atomic Bomb Preparations at Tinian Island

National Archives Catalog. NAID: 76048660

Enola Gay Returns Home After Strike at Hiroshima

Original Caption: Enola Gay Returns Home After Strike at Hiroshima.

National Archives Catalog.  NAID: 76048622

The Bock's Car

"Major Charles W. Sweeney, Pilot Of B-29 "Bock's Car" that Atom-Bombed Nagasaki, Japan. Marianas Islands. (U.S. Air Force Number B59469AC)

War Department. Office of the Chief of Staff. General Headquarters Air Force. (11/19/1940 - 6/20/1941).
National Archives Catalog. NAID: 204972643

Atomic Bomb Explosion Test

Atomic Bomb Explosion, test at Alamogordo, New Mexico.
Credit: United States Air Force
Accession Number 61-53 Harry S. Truman Library & Museum

Photograph of Hiroshima after Atomic Bomb

War Department. U.S. Strategic Bombing Survey. Pacific Survey. Physical Damage Division. 9/1945-4/1946 (Most Recent).

National Archives Catalog. NAID: 22345680

Photograph of Hiroshima after Atomic Bomb

War Department. U.S. Strategic Bombing Survey. Pacific Survey. Physical Damage Division. 9/1945-4/1946 (Most Recent).

National Archives Catalog. NAID: 22345672

Photograph of Hiroshima after Atomic Bomb

War Department. U.S. Strategic Bombing Survey. Pacific Survey. Physical Damage Division. 9/1945-4/1946 (Most Recent).
National Archives Catalog. NAID: 22345671

Photograph of Hiroshima after Atomic Bomb

War Department. U.S. Strategic Bombing Survey. Pacific Survey. Physical Damage Division. 9/1945-4/1946 (Most Recent).
National Archives Catalog. NAID: 22345677

Hiroshima After the Atomic Bomb Blast

Area of devastation by the atomic bombing of Hiroshima, Japan.
Credit: United States Air Force
Accession Number 61-54 Harry S. Truman Library & Museum.

Photograph of Hiroshima after Atomic Bomb

War Department. U.S. Strategic Bombing Survey. Pacific Survey. Physical Damage Division. 9/1945-4/1946 (Most Recent).

National Archives Catalog. NAID: 22345678

Photograph of the Atomic Cloud Rising Over Nagasaki, Japan. August 9, 1945

A dense column of smoke rises more than 60,000 feet into the air over the Japanese port of Nagasaki, the result of an atomic bomb, the second ever used in warfare, dropped on the industrial center August 9, 1945, from a U.S. B-29 Superfortress.
Office for Emergency Management. Office of War Information. Overseas Operations Branch. New York Office. News and Features Bureau. 12/17/1942-9/15/1945. 
National Archives Catalog.  NAID: 535795

Roman Catholic Cathedral, Nagasaki

War Department. Office of the Chief of Engineers. Manhattan Engineer District. 8/16/1942-8/15/1947 (Most Recent).
National Archives Catalog. NAID 519386

Ground Zero at Nagasaki Before and After the Atomic Bomb Explosion

Ground zero at Nagasaki before and after the atomic bomb explosion, 1,000 feet aerials are shown.

War Department. Office of the Chief of Engineers. Manhattan Engineer District. 8/16/1942-8/15/1947.
National Archives Catalog. NAID: 280957391

War Department. U.S. Strategic Bombing Survey. Pacific Survey. Physical Damage Division. 9/1945-4/1946 (Most Recent).

National Archives Catalog. NAID: 540224

Aerial Photograph of Nagasaki

Aerial Photograph of Nagasaki, May 22, 1946
National Archives Catalog. NAID: 148728744

Nagasaki Hospital

Still from Motion Picture Bombing Project rec'd 29 November 1950 from Hdqrs., 2754th Experimental Wing, Holloman AFB, New Mexico. 
War Department. Office of the Chief of Staff. General Headquarters Air Force. (11/19/1940 - 6/20/1941).
National Archives Catalog. NAID: 205001881

Nagasaki, Japan After Bombing

Nagasaki, Japan After Atomic Bombing ... 'Like A Graveyard With Not A Tombstone Standing'. Nagasaki Prefecture Report. (U.S. Air Force Number 60616AC)
War Department. Office of the Chief of Staff. General Headquarters Air Force. (11/19/1940 - 6/20/1941) Image provided by Fold3.
National Archives Catalog.  NAID: 204836792

Shiroyama National School

Shiroyama National School After Bombing Of Nagasaki, Japan. (U.S. Air Force Number B60656AC)
War Department. Office of the Chief of Staff. General Headquarters Air Force. (11/19/1940 - 6/20/1941). Image provided by Fold3.  
National Archives Catalog.  NAID: 204836894

Victim of the Atom Bomb Explosion over Nagasaki, 1945

War Department. Office of the Chief of Engineers. Manhattan Engineer District. 8/16/1942-8/15/1947.
National Archives Catalog. NAID: 519384