Academics & So Much More! Blog - Research Guides at Tidewater Community College

As the semester winds down, it’s time to return those library books and other items! Be sure to stay up-to-date on TCC Libraries hours. Here’s a quick checklist:

Review your Library Account
Use the MY Account Link under the Library Catalog search on the Library homepage, or call your campus library.
Return overdue items or items no longer needed
If continuing to the Fall semester, renew items that are eligible.
Enjoy your Summer Break!
By reviewing your account and returning/renewing items before the break, you won't have to worry about these items!

Reminder: Library hours vary during intersession (August 4th-22nd), please see hours for more information. Book drops are available for material return during that time. https://libguides.tcc.edu/libhours

Recent Posts

Celebrating Native American Heritage Month

November marks Native American Heritage Month, a time to honor the rich histories, diverse cultures, and enduring contributions of Indigenous peoples across the United States. Recognize the importance of amplifying Native voices, preserving Indigenous knowledge, and fostering understanding through literature, storytelling, and community engagement.Check out some of the resources your TCC Libraries have to offer:(Books selected by Ruthie D., Portsmouth Campus Library)The Cambridge history of Native American literatureNew Mexico Native American Lore : Skinwalkers, Kachinas, Spirits and Dark Omens.Contemporary Native American literatureNative American women leaders : fourteen profilesFor more resources check out our Indigenous People Studies Research Guide!...

Explore Indigenous Peoples of North America Database

Explore Indigenous Peoples of North America in Gale Primary Sources Tidewater Community College Libraries offer access to Gale Primary Sources: Indigenous Peoples of North America, a rich digital archive that brings together rare primary source materials related to the history, culture, and experiences of Indigenous peoples across the continent.What You’ll Find This database includes a wide variety of digitized materials—many of which were previously difficult to access—such as:• Manuscripts, treaties, and government documents• Maps and photographs • Personal narratives, oral histories, and organizational records• Early books and periodicalsThese resources span from the 17th to the 20th centuries and provide authentic voices and firsthand perspectives on topics including cultural traditions, colonial encounters, land rights, education, and sovereignty movements. Why It Matters Indigenous Peoples of North America supports research and learning in history, anthropology, sociology, political science, and cultural studies. It provides context for contemporary issues while honoring Indigenous perspectives that have often been marginalized in traditional historical collections.Access the collection through the TCC Libraries’ A–Z Databases page under Indigenous Peoples of North America. Once inside, you can:• Browse by collection or theme• Use powerful search tools to locate materials by tribe, region, or topic• View high-quality images of original documents• Download, cite, or share items directly from the database...

Eureka! Finding Reliable Science Sources

Discover the Tools to Navigate the World of Scientific Informationauthored by Brittany H. LibrarianAre you overwhelmed by the sheer volume of science content online? Wondering how to tell the difference between credible research and questionable claims? Join us for Eureka! Finding Reliable Science Sources, a hands-on workshop designed to empower students, educators, and curious minds with the skills to locate, evaluate, and use trustworthy scientific information. For this workshop and others, check out TCC Libraries Event Calendar: TCC Events Calendar - LibCal - Tidewater Community College Libraries.📅 Workshop DetailsDate: Tuesday, November 18, 2025Time: 12:30 p.m. to 1:00 p.m.Location: Zoom 🔍 What You’ll LearnHow to identify peer-reviewed articles and primary researchTips for using library databases like PubMed and ScienceDirectEvaluating sources for bias, credibility, and relevanceTools for citation management and staying organized💡 Why It MattersIn an age of misinformation, especially in science and health, knowing how to find and verify reliable sources is more important than ever. Whether you're writing a paper, preparing a presentation, or just exploring a topic, this workshop will give you the confidence to navigate scientific literature with ease....

From Storyboard to the Big Screen: Celebrate Anime and Creativity at TCC Norfolk Library

Post authored by Terri R., Norfolk CampusStep into the colorful world of anime, graphic novels, and storytelling at the “From Storyboard to the Big Screen” event hosted by the TCC Norfolk Campus Library in collaboration with the Norfolk Public Library.This exciting celebration brings fans, creators, and the curious together for an afternoon filled with creativity and community. Visitors can enjoy crafts, snacks, and sing-alongs, explore the artistry behind animation, and connect with others who share a passion for anime and visual storytelling.The event will also feature an anime movie screening (title to be announced soon) that highlights the transition from concept art and storyboards to the stunning visuals we see on screen.And don’t forget the Cosplay Contest, open to all TCC students, faculty, and staff. Whether you’re a seasoned cosplayer or debuting your first costume, it’s your chance to showcase your creativity and celebrate your favorite characters.📅 Date: Wednesday, November 5, 2025🕚 Time: 11:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m.📍 Location: TCC Norfolk Campus Library🎉 Hosted by: TCC Norfolk Campus Library and Norfolk Public Library🎬 Feature: Crafts, snacks, sing-alongs, anime movie screening, and cosplay contestJoin us for a day where imagination comes to life, from storyboard to the big screen!👉 For more information and cosplay contest details, visit: https://libguides.tcc.edu/FromStoryboardtotheBigScreen ...

Keep Your Library Account in Good Standing

Leave a comment

TCC Chesapeake

TCC Norfolk

TCC Portsmouth

TCC Virginia Beach