Research Guides: Pathways &amp; Libraries: Social Sciences

Social Sciences & Education Research Guides

Social Sciences & Education Research Guides

Research Step By Step An introduction for all students/courses on finding, evaluating, and citing information.
Careers/SDV Research Guide
African American Studies Research Guide
Early Childhood Education Research Guide
Education Research Guide
Human Services Research Guide
Primary Sources/Primary Research Topic Guide
Psychology Research Guide
Social Sciences Research Guide
United States History Research Guide
Western Civilization & World History Research Guide

Suggested Databases

Suggested Databases

The following databases are available for researching topics related to Social Sciences & Education.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window

Additional Databases

Additional Databases

The following databases are available for researching discipline-specific information within the Social Sciences & Education Pathway.

Archives of Sexuality and Gender This link opens in a new window
A robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender.
Contemporary Women's Issues This link opens in a new window
Full-text information on women from 200 countries; sociology, psychology, health, education, and human rights.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text articles, books, and conference papers covering all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
Searching on the New EBSCO User Interfaces (Video 3:28)
ERIC Education Resources Information Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to journals related to education from the U.S. Dept. of Education.
Searching on the New EBSCO User Interfaces (Video 3:28)
Ethnic Newswatch This link opens in a new window
Full-text; newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press; includes Spanish language publications and a Spanish language search.
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events.
- Global Issues Tutorial (video 1:57)
HarpWeek 1857-1912 This link opens in a new window
Full text access to “Harper's Weekly,” the illustrated 19th-century "Journal of Civilization," for a 56-year period: 1857-1912.
- Help Searching Harpweek (video 4:58)
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers. Now with downloadable OCR of articles
- Help Searching Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (video 2:54)
Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text journal articles, primary sources and more on topics related to African American studies.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Full text/scholarly peer-reviewed journals published by the American Psychological Association.
Searching on the New EBSCO User Interfaces (Video 3:28)
U.S. History In Context This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals and primary sources in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present.
- Topic finder (video 1:38)
Videatives This link opens in a new window
Video clips for early childhood and child development.
World History in Context This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly articles, primary sources, images, maps and charts; ancient Europe to Latin America, the Far East to the Renaissance.
- Topic Finder (video 1:43)